Torero Tidbits: New USD Trustees; 17 Faculty Get Tenure; New Alumni Board President; Employee Awards

Emilie Amrein is one of 17 new USD faculty members to gain tenure.Honorees of the Community of Human Resources gather together for lunch at USD's La Gran Terraza in celebration earlier this year. Employee awards were handed out at the June 7 President's Forum.

Effective July 1, the start of the new fiscal year for the University of San Diego, the university’s Board of Trustees has added new members, has a new treasurer and one trustee has completed her service to the group.

Robert R. Dean, a 1994 USD alumnus, is the lone new officer, having been appointed as the trustees’ new treasurer. He joins the existing officer group led by Chairman Donald R. Knauss, Vice Chair Luis Maizel and Secretary Sister Carolyn Osiek, RSCJ, ThD.

New members of the board of trustees are Tom Lupfer, Michael Persall, Paul Purcell and Massih Tayebi. Their inclusion as trustees brings the number of current members to 29. The lone trustee transitioning out of her membership role is Ann Navarra.

To see a full list of USD’s Board of Trustees and Trustee Emeriti, please visit the webpage.

Seventeen USD Faculty Awarded Tenure

Seventeen faculty members at the University of San Diego recently were awarded tenure status. The breakdown has 12 faculty members from the College of Arts and Sciences, two from the School of Business, two from the Shiley-Marcos School of Engineering and one from the Joan B. Kroc School of Peace Studies.

The USD faculty members, listed alphabetically, receiving tenure are: Emilie Amrein, Music (Choral Studies, conductor of the Choral Scholars); Jessica Bell, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Barbara Bliss, Business (Finance); Austin Choi-Fitzpatrick, Peace Studies; Saturnino Garcia, Engineering (Computer Science); Adam Haberman, Biology; Imane Khalil, Engineering (Mechanical Engineering); Koonyong Kim, English; Diane Keeling, Communication Studies; Marcelle Maese-Cohen, English; Rico Monge, Theology and Religious Studies; Ivan Ortiz, English; Greg Prieto, Sociology; Martin Repinecz, Languages, Cultures and Literatures (Spanish); Ruixia (Sandy) Shi, Business; Steve Tammelleo, Philosophy; and Suzanne Walther, Environmental and Ocean Sciences.

New Alumni Association Board President Named

Gerry Rodrigues, a 1997 business alumnus, completed his two-year term as president of the USD Alumni Association Board of Directors on June 30. An active and visible member of the Torero family — attending numerous sporting events and business networking mixers as well as big events such as Homecoming, Founders Gala and Alumni Honors — Rodrigues will remain involved with the alumni association as a spirited supporter of all things Toreros.

Recently, the Alumni Association Board announced that Kim Alessio ’87 (BA, English and Communications), who served as vice president on Rodrigues’ executive board team, will serve as the USD Alumni Board’s new president.

USD Employee of the Year Awards Revealed

University President James T. Harris’ June President’s Forum provided the campus community with official business updates such as campus construction projects and a reminder about this fall’s art exhibition in the Hoehn Family Galleries, “Christ: Life, Death and Resurrection,” original Italian Renaissance art which includes Michelangelo’s The Three Crosses.

But it was also an opportunity to reveal and celebrate USD employees nominated for their good work during the 2018-19 year. Finalists, and ultimately, winners of annual awards by the Office of Human Resources were announced by Associate Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer Karen Briggs.

The Community of Human Resources (CHR) Awards are done twice a year, once in the fall and again in the spring. Here are the men and women, faculty and staff members who received this honor:

Fall 2018: Paul Aden, Lead Mail Specialist, Mail Center; Susie Babka, Associate Professor, Theology and Religious Studies; Molly DiFede, Executive Assistant, Undergraduate Admissions; Eric Fritsvold, Associate Professor, Sociology; Erika Garwood, Associate Director, Graduate Admissions; and Julene Snyder, Senior Director, University Publications. Spring 2019: Jesus Avila, Housekeeper, Facilities Management; Odesma Dalrymple, Associate Professor, Industrial and Systems Engineering, Shiley-Marcos School of Engineering; Amanda Etter, Director, Military and Veterans Programs, Military and Veteran Students; Robert Hester, Tram Driver, Public Safety; Sybilla Robison, Director, One Stop Student Services Center; and Joi Spencer, Associate Dean and Associate Professor, School of Leadership and Education Sciences.

Manuel Hernandez Staff Employee of the Year Finalists: Paul Aden, Lead Mail Specialist; Jesus Avila, Housekeeper; Molly DiFede, Executive Assistant, Undergraduate Admissions; Janet Engleman, Executive Assistant, Athletics Administration; and Lisa Fernandes, Executive Assistant, University Advancement. Winner: Lisa Fernandes.

Sister Virginia Rodee Administrator of the Year Finalists: Kira Espiritu, Director of International Studies Abroad; Erin Fornelli, Honors Program Coordinator; Erika Garwood, Associate Director of Graduate Admissions; Choa Kang, Budget Manager in Shiley-Marcos School of Engineering; Sybilla Robison, Director of One Stop Student Services Center; Katy Roig, Associate Vice President for Finance; Julene Snyder, Senior Director, University Publications; Joi Spencer, Associate Dean, School of Leadership and Education Sciences; Doug Taylor, Production Manager, Dining Services; and James Thrailkill, Torero Store Director. Winner: Katy Roig.

— Compiled by Ryan T. Blystone


USD News Center
(619) 260-4681