CAEP Names New Members to Board of Directors

Two Educators from California, One from Illinois Join CAEP Board; Bring Diversity and Depth of Experience to Leadership Roles

WASHINGTON – The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) announced David Prasse, Reyes Quezada and Al Rabanera have been selected to become members of the CAEP Board of Directors. The Board members will assume their new duties with CAEP July 1, 2017.  


“Dr. Prasse, Dr. Quezada, and Dr. Rabanera bring unique perspectives to our Board and will add diversity to our leadership from their experiences as educators,” said CAEP President Dr. Christopher A. Koch. “Their added voices to our Board collective will help us to be more responsive to the programs we accredit, while enhancing our service to K-12 students.”

The CAEP Board of Directors is responsible for making policy for CAEP and appointments to committees and the CAEP Accreditation Council. The Board of Directors is also responsible for reviewing the performance and activities of CAEP and approving its annual budget and annual independent audits.


  • David Prasse—Dr. Prasse is the Vice-Provost of Academic and Faculty Resources at Loyola University in Chicago. As Dean at Loyola’s School of Education, he planned and oversaw the school’s reaccreditation through the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education. He has been with Loyola since 1999 and has held faculty and administrative appointments at Governors State University in Illinois and the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.
  • Reyes Quezada— Dr. Quezada has been a teacher, teacher educator, and professor for the past 28 years and has been serving at the University of San Diego since 1999. His teaching and research focus on issues of equity, inclusion, diversity, family-school, community engagement, and international education. He is past Chair of the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing-Committee on Accreditation, a member of the Board of Directors for the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education, and the Chair of the International Council on the Education for Teaching.
  • Al Rabanera—Dr. Rabanera is a mathematics teacher at La Vista High School in Fullerton, California. He serves as the department leader for mathematics at La Vista, focusing efforts on math curriculum development and instruction. He has actively participated in the Teacher Assistant Student to Excel Learning Mathematics grant program through California State University.


The CAEP Board of Directors also selected Karen Symms Gallagher to serve as Chair. Dr. Gallagher is the Dean of the University of Southern California, Rossier School of Education. She has more than 20 years of experience as a dean in higher education, serving at USC since 2000. She was also Dean at the University of Kansas, School of Education from 1994-2000.


CAEP is the sole accrediting body for educator preparation. Accreditation is a nongovernmental activity based on peer review that serves the dual functions of assuring quality and promoting improvement. CAEP was created by the consolidation of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council. It is a uniform accreditation system intent on raising the performance of all providers focused on educator preparation. Currently, more than 900 educator preparation providers participate in the CAEP accreditation system, including many grandfathered into accreditation under former standards.




The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation ( advances equity and excellence in educator preparation through evidence-based accreditation that assures quality and supports continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 student learning.


About the University of San Diego

The University of San Diego sets the standard for an engaged, contemporary Catholic university where innovative Changemakers confront humanity’s urgent challenges. With more than 8,000 students from 75 countries and 44 states, USD is the youngest independent institution on the U.S. News & World Report list of top 100 universities in the United States. USD’s eight academic divisions include the College of Arts and Sciences, the School of Business, the Shiley-Marcos School of Engineering, the School of Law, the School of Leadership and Education Sciences, the Hahn School of Nursing and Health Science, the Joan B. Kroc School of Peace Studies, and the Division of Professional and Continuing Education. USD recently concluded our successful $317M Leading Change: The Campaign for USD, which represented the most ambitious fundraising effort in the history of the university. In September 2016, USD introduced Envisioning 2024, a strategic plan that capitalizes on the university’s recent progress and aligns new strategic goals with current strengths to help shape a vision for the future as the university looks ahead to its 75th anniversary in the year 2024.