NROTC Commissioning Ceremony Welcomes 48 Ensigns, Second Lieutenants

Forty-eight members of the Naval Reserve Officers Training Corps (NROTC) will participate in a commissioning ceremony this Friday, May 20 in Camino/Founders Patio at the University of San Diego.  A reception on the Copley Library lawn will immediately follow the ceremony.
NROTC San Diego consists of students from five schools: the University of San Diego; San Diego State University; California State University, San Marcos; Point Loma Nazarene University; and the University of California San Diego.  The Commissioning Ceremony is the culmination of four years of preparatory leadership and tactics training--in this case through the NROTC. USD is graduating 14: 2 Marines and 12 Navy.
United States Navy Rear Admiral David F. Steindl, Commander, Naval Service Training Command, Great Lakes, IL will be the guest of honor at the ceremony.  Steindl served as Sea Combat Commander during Ronald Reagan Strike Group’s maiden deployment to the Arabian Gulf. He has completed one Mediterranean and six Western Pacific/Arabian Gulf Deployments, including Tomahawk Land Attack Missile strikes in support of Operations Southern Watch, Allied Force/Noble Anvil, and Enduring Freedom.
During the ceremony, NROTC students are officially inducted into the Naval Services as Second Lieutenants (Marines) and Ensigns (Navy). The ceremony is steeped in military tradition. The ceremony is open press. 
WHO: 48 Students will be commissioned as officers in the Navy or Marine Corps
WHAT: Naval ROTC 2011 Spring Commissioning Ceremony
WHERE: University of San Diego
Camino Founders
5998 Alcala Park
San Diego, CA

WHEN: Friday, May 20, 2011 at 1 p.m.

About the University of San Diego

The University of San Diego sets the standard for an engaged, contemporary Catholic university where innovative Changemakers confront humanity’s urgent challenges. With more than 8,000 students from 75 countries and 44 states, USD is the youngest independent institution on the U.S. News & World Report list of top 100 universities in the United States. USD’s eight academic divisions include the College of Arts and Sciences, the School of Business, the Shiley-Marcos School of Engineering, the School of Law, the School of Leadership and Education Sciences, the Hahn School of Nursing and Health Science, the Joan B. Kroc School of Peace Studies, and the Division of Professional and Continuing Education. USD recently concluded our successful $317M Leading Change: The Campaign for USD, which represented the most ambitious fundraising effort in the history of the university. In September 2016, USD introduced Envisioning 2024, a strategic plan that capitalizes on the university’s recent progress and aligns new strategic goals with current strengths to help shape a vision for the future as the university looks ahead to its 75th anniversary in the year 2024.