San Diego City Council to Recognize USD's 60th Anniversary

The University of San Diego already has begun celebrating its 60th anniversary this year, and now the city of San Diego also will join the university in honoring its milestone. The San Diego City Council will present USD with a proclamation in honor of the university’s monumental anniversary on Tuesday, April 28 at 10 a.m. in the council chambers at City Hall, 202 C St.

The resolution will be presented by San Diego Councilmembers Donna Frye, USD undergraduate alumnus Todd Gloria, and Tony Young, who received his teaching credential from the USD School of Leadership and Education Sciences.  USD President Mary E. Lyons will accept the proclamation on behalf of the university.

In accepting the recognition of the university, Lyons will highlight USD’s six decades of unparalleled success in the advancement of education, intellectual development and community stewardship.

“We are pleased and honored to accept the council’s recognition,” Lyons said. “USD is very proud to be part of the San Diego community and we look forward to working together for the next 60 years as well.”

To learn more about the city proclamation, go to

The University of San Diego is a Catholic institution of higher learning chartered in 1949; the school enrolls some 7,500 undergraduate and graduate students and is known for its commitment to teaching, the liberal arts, the formation of values and community service. The inauguration of the Joan B. Kroc School of Peace Studies brings the University’s total number of schools and colleges to six. Other academic divisions include the College of Arts and Sciences and the schools of Business Administration, Leadership and Education Sciences, Law and Nursing and Health Sciences.


About the University of San Diego

The University of San Diego sets the standard for an engaged, contemporary Catholic university where innovative Changemakers confront humanity’s urgent challenges. With more than 9,000 students from 69 countries and 50 states, USD is the youngest independent institution on the U.S. News & World Report list of top 100 universities in the United States. The university's eight academic divisions include the College of Arts and Sciences, the School of Business, the Shiley-Marcos School of Engineering, the School of Law, the School of Leadership and Education Sciences, the Hahn School of Nursing and Health Science, the Joan B. Kroc School of Peace Studies, and the Division of Professional and Continuing Education. USD's Envisioning 2024 strategic plan capitalizes on the university’s recent progress and aligns new strategic goals with current strengths to help shape a vision for the future as the university looks ahead to its 75th anniversary in the year 2024.