Black Student Organizations

African Student Union (ASU)

The African Student Union is a safe space for all people to get together and learn more about Africa and the beautiful cultures that are within it. Most of the people in this club are from Africa and are willing to share and learn more about their continent. Come by and discover more. Visit the instagram @usd_asu for programming announcements.

General body meetings are usually held Tuesdays at 7:00 p.m. in the Student Life Pavilion 310. For more information, please email asu@sandiego.edu.

Please note the African Student Union is inactive for the Spring 2021 semester.

Black Student Union (BSU) 

Black Student Union: Brothers & Sisters United actively pursue recruitment and retention of under-represented students to, and at, the University of San Diego. The Black Student Union acts as an umbrella for other Black organizations in the University of San Diego community. The Black Student Union promotes awareness and education on the contributions of Blacks in a historical, political, social, and economic context. The Black Student Union fosters an environment of unity and cooperation among its members and other San Diego community organizations/groups.

General meeting are bi-weekly on Monday's starting at 7:00 p.m. in the Commuter Commons, University Center, Room 119. Visit the instagram @bsu.usd for programming announcements.

For more information, please contact the BSU at bsu@sandiego.edu

President: Meredith Wiggins meredithwiggins@sandiego.edu

Vice President: Kaia Morrison kmorrison@sandiego.edu

National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE)

More than 29,900 members, the National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE) is one of the largest student-governed organizations in the country. Founded in 1975, NSBE now includes more than 394 College, Pre-College, and Technical Professional/Alumni chapters in the United States and abroad. NSBE's mission is "to increase the number of culturally responsibly black engineers who excel academically, succeed professionally and positively impact the community." Visit the instagram @nsbeusd for programming announcements.

For more information contact nsbe@sandiego.edu

President Devin Devlin ddevlin@sandiego.edu

Black Graduate Student Association (BGSA)

The Black Graduate Student Association (BGSA) serves as a support network for graduate students of African descent and provides resources that will enhance the academic and career success of current graduate and professional students. BGSA will also serve in developing a network of emerging scholars of African descent who are dedicated and sensitive to the needs and concerns of an increasingly diverse academic community. BGSA is dedicated to uniting students, faculty, and alumni of African descent to create a sense of pride, community, and support at the University of San Diego. We encourage scholarship opportunities, promote social connections, community service, and self-determination. See instagram @usdbgsa for upcoming events

For more information contact any of the following executive board members:

20-21 Co-President Amanda Gunn agunn@sandiego.edu 

20-21 Co-President Brittany Woodard bwoodard@sandiego.edu

21-22 Co-President Jamal Oakes joakes@sandiego.edu

21-22 Co-President Madison Norrington mnorriginton@sandiego.edu 

blsa logo

Black Law Students Association (BLSA)

The USD BLSA seeks to utilize the resources of the University of San Diego School of Law and the San Diego legal network to articulate and promote the educational, professional, political, and social needs and goals of Black law students. USD BLSA's ultimate goal is to contribute to a greater future for Black lawyers and the Black community at large by preparing our members for successful legal careers, building relationships between Black professionals, and bringing about meaningful legal and political change to address the needs of the Black community. Interested students should email our general account to be added to our mailing list and stay informed of our programming! Visit the instagram @usdlawblsa for upcoming events!
 
For more information contact usdblsa@gmail.com
 
President Alexandria Pritchett apritchett@sandiego.edu
Co-Vice President Megan Divine megandivine@sandiego.edu
Co-Vice President Rayne Ibarra-Brown raynei@sandiego.edu