Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner

Curriculum Plan

The MSN Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner program requires the completion of 49 academic units. Course sequencing for full-time study is outlined below. Part-time study is also available.


Fall Semester, Year One # Units
APNC 520 Advanced Pathophysiology 3 units
APNC 521 APRN Physical Assessment and Diagnosis 4 units
DNPC 611 Methods of Translational Science 3 units
NPTC 627 Primary Mental Health Care I: Biopsychosocial Foundations of Behavior and Psychopathology 4 units


Spring Semester, Year One # Units
APNC 523 Pharmacology in Health Management 3 units
HCIN 540 Introduction to Health Care Information Management 3 units
NPTC 651 Primary Mental Health Care II: Psychiatric Assessment and Diagnoses 4 units


Summer Session, Year One # Units
NPTC 624 Primary Mental Health Care III: Psychopharmacology 5 units


Fall Semester, Year Two # Units
DNPC 648 Health Policy Analysis 3 units
NPTC 653 Primary Mental Health Care IVA: Individual Psychotherapy I 7 units


Spring Semester, Year Two # Units
NPTC 655 Primary Mental Health Care IVB: Individual Psychotherapy II 5 units
NPTC 657 Primary Mental Health Care V: Psychotherapy with Group and Family Systems 5 units

» Apply to the Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Program