Past Events

Past Keynote speakers have been Dan Walters, Sacramento Bee (2012), Eugene Robinson, Washington Post (2013), Dr. Carolyn Lukensmeyer, National Institute for Civil Discourse (2014) Steve Dinkin, President National Conflict Resolution Center (2015) Alexander Heffner, Host of PBS Open Mind (2016), Carolyn Lukensmeyer and Former Congressmen Mickey Edwards and Dan Glickman (2017), UT Pulitzer Prize winning Cartoonist Steve Breen (2017). Our panelists have included senior academic leaders from around our region, award winning journalists and academics, renowned community leaders, business and non-profit leaders, elected officials and student leaders from southern California and beyond.

Our 2018 Conference (Media Literacy: Finding Truth in a Post Truth World) consisted of multiple events on multiple campuses (USD, Mesa & City Colleges and the Jacobs Center ) including our half-day conference at the University of San Diego and speaking events with Pulitzer Prize winning journalist Sonia Nazario.

Restoring Respect Annual Conferences: 

2012: 1st Annual Community Conference on Restoring Civility to Civic Dialogue. Held USD April 9. Keynote Dan Walters. Panel: Constance Carroll, Tony Perry, Larry Hinman, Murray Galinson, Tom Shepard. Attendance: 250

2013: 2nd Annual. At USD April 9. Keynote Eugene Robinson. Panel: Jeff Light, Martha Barnette, Maria Nieto Senour, Marty Block, Virgina Chau. Attendance: 275

2014: 3rd Annual. At USD March 21. Keynote Carolyn Lukensmeyer. Panel: Jerry Sanders, Thella Bowen, Scott Lewis, Martin Carcasson, Carolyn Lukensmeyer, David Barrera. Break out Workshop: Creating a Campus Culture of Civility (Martin Carcasson) Attendance: 225

2015: 4th Annual: Celebrating Civility. At USD March 20. Introductions: Rev. Smith, Mary Lyons, Cindy Marten, Pedro Villegas (SDGE). Keynote: Steve Dinkin. Panel: Greg Cox, Karla Peterson (UT), Mary Walshok (UCSD), Adam Garcia (Mesa ASG), Michel Anderson. Civility Day Proclamation: Greg Cox. 1st Civility Awards Presentation: Pedro Villegas (SDGE). Closing: Anthony Bebe. Annual Student Civility Awards & Luncheon. Attendance: 285

2016: 5th Annual: Educating Civility. At USD April 18. Introductions: Rev. Smith, Constance Carroll, Maria Nieto Senour, Tom Karlo. Keynote: Alexander Heffner. Panel: James Harris, Gene Cubbison, Tryone Howard (UCLA), Olivia Light (Miramar ASG), Pam Luster. Civility Awards Presentation: Pedro Villegas (SDGE). Closing: Nicholas Ladany (USD SOLES) Attendance: 245

2017: 6th Annual: Rebuilding Civility. At USD April 18-19. Held over two days at University of San Diego, this was our most ambitious conference effort with 28 conference sections consisting of panels, workshops and community presentations. Conference Plenary Opening Remarks: Rev. George Walker Smith, USD President James Harris, Chancellor Constance Carroll, KPBS Associate General Manager Nancy Worlie. Keynote Introduction: Steve Dinkin NCRC President; Moderator Carolyn Lukensmeyer, Panelists Former Congressmen Mickey Edwards (Director of the Aspen Institute) and Dan Glickman (Vice President and Executive Director of the Aspen Institute). Attendance: 325 with 800 section attendees. 

2018: 7th Annual: Media Literacy: Finding Truth in a Post Truth World. Speakers and panelists included: The Reverend George Walker Smith, founder, Catfish Club; James Harris, PhD, President, University of San Diego; Constance Carroll, PhD, Chancellor, San Diego Community College District; Julie Fry, President and CEO, California Humanities; Tom Karlo, General Manager, KPBS Radio & Television; Steve Breen, San Diego Union Tribune Pulitzer-Prize Winning Political Cartoonist; Matt Hall, Union Tribune Editorial and Opinion Director; Natalie Walsh, KPBS Executive Producer for News; Scott Lewis, Voice of San Diego Editor-in-Chief; Tony Perry, Former LA Times Pulitzer-Prize Winning Reporter; Lizzet Lopez, NBC Universal; Noelle Norton, PhD, Dean of College of Arts and Sciences, University of San Diego; Pam Luster, President, Mesa College; Clark D. Olson, PhD, Professor, Hugh Downs School of Human Communication; Jocquin Alvarado (Founder Studiotable); Sonia Nazario, City Attorney Mara Elliot.

View the 2018 photo gallery

2019: 8th Annual: Restoring Civic Literacy: Revitalizing Civic Education Across our Community. Speakers and Panelists included: The Reverend George Walker Smith, Founder, Catfish Club; Constance Carroll, PhD, Chancellor, San Diego Community College District; Gail Baker, PhD, Vice President and Provost, USD; Maria Nieto Senour, PhD, President, San Diego Community College District Board of Trustees; Stephen Ferruolo, JD, Dean and Professor, USD School of Law; Tom Karlo, General Manager, KPBS; Cindy Marten, Superintendent, San Diego Unified School District; Ricky Shabazz, EdD, President, San Diego City College; Hon. Judith D. McConnell, Chair, California Power of Democracy Steering Committee, Co-Chair San Diego Civic Learning Partnership; Haney Hong, President & CEO, San Diego County Taxpayers Association; Elizabeth Ashford, USC Schwarzenegger Institute for State & Global Policy; Noelle Norton, PhD, Dean, University of San Diego College of Arts and Sciences; Miranda Mcgowan, JD, Professor of Law, USD School of Law; Carl Luna, PhD, Director, Institute for Civil Civic Engagement; Sofia Castellani-Staedler, President, Associated Student Government, San Diego Mesa College. 

Watch Keynote Interview: Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye, Chief Justice of California "The Critical Role of Civic Education in Sustaining Democracy"

View the 2019 photo gallery