Hear from our Regional Leaders

Picture of Kevin Faulconer and Todd Gloria"Taking care of our environment is not just good for our health and quality of life; it also strengthens our economy. Together, we are working with leaders throughout our region who understand the importance of investing in more energy-efficient technology to create high-quality jobs and expand business opportunities in San Diego County. We can put people to work while having a clean and healthy environment."

Kevin Faulconer, Mayor, City of San Diego
Todd Gloria, Council President, City of San Diego

Leaders in the 2050 Report

Below are some of San Diego's regional leaders who have joined Climate Education Partners in highlighting locally relevant climate science and adaptation measures (listed in order as they appear in the report). Discover more by downloading the 2050 report (PDF).

Jerry Sanders
President and CEO, San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce

Kevin Faulconer
Mayor, City of San Diego

Todd Gloria
Council President, City of San Diego

Rafael Castellanos
Commissioner, Unified Port of San Diego, and Partner, Solomon Minton Cardinal Doyle & Smith LLP

Mark Cafferty
President and CEO, San Diego Regional Economic Development Corporation

Diane Takvorian
Executive Director, Environmental Health Coalition

Steve Mollenkopf
Chief Executive Officer, Qualcomm Incorporated

Carol Wallace
President and CEO, San Diego Convention Center Corporation

Cristina Amorim
Chief Sustainability Officer, Life Technologies Division of Thermo Fisher Scientific

Tony Young
Former President, San Diego City Council, and Former CEO, American Red Cross San Diego/Imperial Counties Chapter

Margaret Leinen, PhD
Director, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UC San Diego

Ron Roberts
Supervisor, San Diego County Board; Chair, San Diego County Air Pollution Control Board; and Member, California Air Resources Board

Elyse Lowe
Deputy Executive Director, Circulate San Diego

Paul Jablonski
Chief Executive Officer, Metropolitan Transit System

Charlie Kennel, PhD
Professor and Director Emeritus, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UC San Diego, and Former Director, Mission to Planet Earth, NASA 

Maureen Stapleton
General Manager, San Diego County Water Authority

Julie Walker
President, San Diego County Farm Bureau, and Co-Owner/Founder of Obra Verde Growers in Valley Center

Dan Cayan, PhD
Research Meteorologist, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UC San Diego, and Oceanographer, Water Resources Division, U.S. Geological Survey

Cheryl Cox
Mayor, City of Chula Vista

Rear Admiral Patrick Lorge
Commander, Navy Region Southwest

Matt Rahn, PhD
Director, Wildfire Research Center, San Diego State University, and Associate Professor, University of California Merced

Thom Porter
Assistant Region Chief (formerly San Diego Unit Chief), CAL FIRE Southern Region

Joan Embery
Conservation Ambassador, San Diego Zoo Global

Scott Peters
Congressman, US House of Representatives, CA-52

Michael Hager, PhD
President and CEO, San Diego Natural History Museum

Jenny Quintana, PhD
Associate Professor, Division of Environmental Health, San Diego State University

Wilma Wooten, MD, MPH
Public Health Officer, San Diego Health and Human Services Agency, County of San Diego

Michael W. Murphy
President and CEO, Sharp HealthCare

Ash Israni
Chairman, Pacifica Companies

Cody Hooven
Senior Environmental Specialist, Port of San Diego

Matthew Tucker
Executive Director, North County Transit District