Author E. Hughes Achievement Award

About the Award

Originated in 1995, the Author E. Hughes Career Achievement Awards are named in honor of President Emeritus Author E. Hughes. His outstanding achievements over his 24 years as president and his commitment to excellence mirror the extraordinary accomplishments of the fifty-plus honorees who proudly wear the medallion bearing his name. The award is presented annually to an alumnus/a from each of the five schools of the university.

Nominate a USD Law Alumnus/a for the Author E. Hughes Award for Career Achievement

Award Recipients

2018 Vickie E. Turner, '82 (JD)
2017 Michael Kaplan, '72 (JD)
2016 Hon. David Camp, '78 (JD)
2015 Karen P. Hewitt, '89
2014 Jeffrey T. Thomas, '82 (JD)
2013 Jan I. Goldsmith, '76 (JD)
2012 Theodore J. Boutrous Jr., '87 (JD)
2011 Virginia C. Nelson, '79 (JD)
2010 Gerald L. McMahon, '64 (JD)
2009 Richard M. Bartell, '75 (JD)
2008 Hon. Thomas J. Whelan, '61 (BBA), '65 (JD)
2007 Leonard Armato, '78 (JD)
2006 Susanne Stanford, '75 (JD)
2005 Hon. Napoleon Jones, Jr. '71 (JD)
2004 Steven R. Altman, '86 (JD)
2003 David S. Casey, Jr., '74 (JD)
2002 Hon. Lynn Schenk, '70 (JD)
2001 Hon. Nancy H. Ely-Raphel, '68 (JD)
2000 Patricia A. McQuater, '78 (JD)
1999 Michael T. Thorsnes, '68 (JD)
1998 Honorable Judith N. Keep, '70 (JD)
1997 Hon. Federico "Fred" Castro, '71 (JD)
1996 Sister Sally M. Furay, '72 (JD)
1995 The Law School did not participate the first year this award was created.