Theology Core Curriculum Requirements

The Department of Theology and Religious Studies is proud of our service to the core curriculum. In the “old” core curriculum, students were required to take three THRS courses, including at least one course at the upper division level (9 units total).

In the current core curriculum, implemented in Fall 2017, students take one lower division Theological and Religious Inquiry (FTRI) course and one upper division Theological and Religious Inquiry course (FTRI), for a total of six units. All lower division THRS courses achieve learning outcomes one and two of the new core (including special attention to Catholic Christianity and a critical understanding of theory and method). Most, but not all, of our upper division THRS courses are approved for FTRI credit. Most upper division courses have a lower division pre-requisite. For students who arrived at USD prior to Fall 2017 but who elect the new core curriculum, any lower division THRS course that previously counted as a THRS lower division course will count as a lower division FTRI course.

Some THRS courses are also approved under other inquiry and/or flagged areas in the new core curriculum, including Ethical Inquiry (FETI), Diversity, Inclusion, and Social Justice (FDD1, FDD2, FDG1, and/or FDG2), and Advanced Writing (CADW).

If you have questions about how your THRS courses are fulfilling your degree requirements, please run an audit in DARS and Degree Works and then make an appointment with your academic advisor to discuss your audit. For questions about the status of ongoing revisions to the THRS curriculum, please email THRS chairperson Dr. Emily Reimer-Barry:

Note for Transfer Students:

Students should be aware that the Core Curriculum requirement for Theology and Religious Studies may be affected by the number of credits transferred to USD.