This year marks not just the 60th anniversary of USD, but the 50th anniversary of The Immaculata, which was consecrated by Bishop Charles Francis Buddy in May of 1959. Originally designed to serve as the main chapel of USD and the Immac-ulate Heart Seminary, today it is a separate parish encompassing Alcalá Park and the surrounding community. A variety of activities are planned to commemorate this milestone. For details, go to

Helping others was a big part of Danny Burkett’s life. While at USD, the 2006 graduate helped establish the Bleed Purple Foundation to help college students with cancer and served as co-chair of Philanthropy Week, an annual event put on by the Greek community to raise money for charity. In memory of Burkett — who died soon after graduation in a tragic boating accident — the Daniel L. Burkett III Memorial Scholarship was established to perpetuate Danny’s memory and legacy. This fall, the inaugural Danny Burkett Memorial Golf Tourn-ament attracted more than 70 participants who raised more than $7,000 to benefit what will become an annual, perpetual scholarship. To learn more, go to

Alumni Honors Recipients for 2009 will be recognized for their notable achievements. L. Douglas Robert ’74 (’94 M.A.) has been chosen to receive the Mother Rosalie Clifton Hill Award. Sandy M. Cassell Farrell ’61 will be awarded the Bishop Charles Francis Buddy Award. The Chet and Marguerite Pagni Hall of Fame Award goes to Zuzana Lesenarova ‘00. Author E. Hughes Career Achievement Honorees are as follows: Richard M. Bartell ’75 (J.D.) for the School of Law, Denise M. Boren ’01 (Ph.D.) from the Hahn School of Nursing and Health Science, John M. Cappetta ’83 from the School of Business Administration, Judy Ann Nassali Kamanyi ’03 (M.A.) from the Joan B. Kroc School of Peace Studies, Leona Makokis ’01 (Ed.D.) and Patricia Makosis ’00 (Ed.D.) from the School of Leadership and Education Sciences, and Heather Raffo ’98 (MFA) from the College of Arts and Sciences.

USD’s Honor Roll of Donors is exclusively online this year, as part of the university’s “be blue, go green” efforts. The university depends on gifts from alumni, parents, friends, faculty, staff, businesses and foundations to ensure the highest levels of academic success for our students and graduates. To view the online publication, go to

The Inamori Foundation announced the 24th annual Kyoto Prizes in November. The 2008 lifetime achievement awards were given to the honorees for making “dramatic progress in areas promising long-term benefits to humanity.” The laureate in advanced technology is computer scientist Richard Manning Karp; molecular biologist Anthony James Pawson received the basic sciences laureate; arts and philosophy laureate Charles Margrave Taylor has developed a “social philosophy to promote the co-existence of diverse cultures.” The laureates will convene in San Diego from March 18-20, 2009 to participate in North America’s eighth annual Kyoto Laureate Symposium, which will included lectures by each of the honorees; Taylor will speak at USD on March 20. For more information, go to