Center for Peace and Commerce

Drop Shadow

Social Innovation Challenge

The San Diego Social Innovation Challenge Banner

The Social Innovation Challenge (SIC) is a student social venture competition organized by the Center for Peace and Commerce at the University of San Diego. Through the SIC, university students in San Diego generate ideas for innovative ventures that respond to a social or environmental issue of their choice, and compete for seed funding to launch or expand their ventures. Social ventures may be for-profit, non-profit, or hybrid models with a domestic or international focus.

How to participate: create a profile, develop the idea, build a venture, compete for funding

Learn more about How to Enter and Social Innovation Challenge Project Criteria

Watch a video about the 2015 Social Innovation Challenge.

2015 San Diego Social Innovation Challenge Dates 

Idea Lab 3: Ideas Meet Reality - Tuesday, November 18, 2014, KIPJ rooms AB

Registration opens for 2015 Social Innovation Challenge - Monday, December 1, 2014. 

Idea Lab 4: Business Model Creation - Thursday, February 5, 2015, 12:15-2:30 pm, KIPJ rooms AB 

Round 1 Submissions Due - Monday, February 16, 2015, 11:59 pm via SIC online platform. View Round 1 Questions now

Semi-Finalists Announced - February 27, 2015 

Idea Lab 5: Advance Workshop (required for SIC Semi-Finalists) - Thursday, March 5, 2015, 12:15-2:30 pm, KIPJ rooms AB

Idea Lab 6: Speed Coaching (required for SIC Semi-Finalists) - Tuesday, March 17, 2015, 12:15-2:00 pm

Round 2 Submissions Due - Monday, March 30, 2015, 11:59 pm via SIC online platform

Finalists Announced - Friday, April 10, 2015 

Idea Lab 7: Final Pitch Rehearsal (required for SIC Finalists) - Thursday, April 16, 2015, 12:15-2:30 pm

Round 3 Live Pitch to Judges - Tuesday, April 28, 2015, 9 am - 5 pm

Award Ceremony - Friday, May 1, 2015, 4 - 8 pm