Women PeaceMaker Profile

Wazhma Frogh

Afghanistan, Asia

Wazhma Frogh is the director of the Women & Peace Studies Organization (WPSO) — Afghanistan, formerly known as the Research Institute for Women, Peace & Security, which she co-founded in 2012. It is one of the few civil society organizations in Afghanistan that is working for women’s inclusion in security sector reform processes, with a particular focus on women in the police force. She has been a senior advisor on women in security and human rights for the Afghan Ministry of Defense, and a deputy chief of staff to the Afghan Ministry of the Interior.


Frogh and her co-founder conceptualized the Research Institute following their participation in Afghanistan’s Peace Loya Jirga in 2010, in which they recognized the absence of women’s voices and perspectives from these conversations. Since then, she has worked with women leaders from all over the country to ensure that women are utilized as resources for building peace at the local level and that they are meaningfully included in the country’s peace process.


As part of her longstanding activism, Frogh also continues to lobby for women’s inclusion in the security sector. With the Ministry of Interior, she helped develop a five-year strategy for women’s recruitment, retention, capacity building and protection within the police force. Based on fieldwork in Kunduz on the role of private madrassas, Frogh and WPSO lobbied the government for a national strategy for countering violent extremism. She is also co-chair of the Women, Peace and Security Working Group for the implementation of the National Action Plan on U.N. Security Council Resolution 1325. Nominated by civil society and women’s rights groups, the president appointed Frogh and other key women leaders to the High Peace Council.


Frogh is part of the Women Waging Peace Network, a partnership between the Joan B. Kroc Institute for Peace and Justice and the Institute for Inclusive Security. She received the U.S. Department of State’s International Woman of Courage Award in 2009.