Outstanding Leadership Book Award Presented to Ira Chaleff

Celebrating the Power to Influence Thought

In recognition of leadership as a valued practice and the fact that people can be effective agents of change in whatever position they hold, the Department of Leadership Studies has established this annual award to honor thought leaders. The criteria for the selection of each year’s winner includes scholarly rigor and critical thought, innovation with new perspectives, and contribution to the field, taking into account complexity. Special consideration is given to work that contains disruptive, emerging scholarship.

The 2015 winner is Intelligent Disobedience: Doing Right When What You’re Told To Do Is Wrong by Ira Chaleff.

Honorable mention for contribution to the field of leadership studies goes to Hard Times: Leadership in America by Barbara Kellerman. Honorable mention for scholarly rigor and critical thought goes to Strategic Leadership Across Cultures: GLOBE Study of CEO Leadership Behavior and Effectiveness in 24 Countries by Robert J. House, Peter W. Dorfman, Mansour Javidan, Paul J. Hanges, and Mary F. Sully de Luque.  Honorable mention for innovation and cutting-edge perspectives goes to Leadership and Coherence: A Cognitive Approach by Nathan H. Harter.


Other articles about SOLES at ILA 2015

ILA Reflections from an Undergraduate Student

An ILA Student Experience

ILA Reflections from a Leadership Studies Masters Student


Devon Foster
(619) 260-4283


Visit Campus

5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110