USD School of Law Board of Visitors Welcomes 2020-21 Members

2020-21 Board of Visitors

San Diego (October 23, 2020) - University of San Diego (USD) School of Law's Board of Visitors is pleased to announce the following new board members for the 2020-21 academic year—each will serve a three-year term:

The Board of Visitors is comprised of 56 members, made up of legal practitioners, judges, jurists, entrepreneurs, developers and philanthropists.  The majority of the members are also alumni of the law school, however, it is not a requirement of membership.  The broad expertise of board members contributes to the value of their advice to the dean of USD School of Law.  

Longtime Board Chair, Alan K. Brubaker, '79 (JD), introduced new board members, “It is my pleasure to introduce you to seven new members of the Board of Visitors.  The Steering Committee of the Board of Visitors met on September 24, 2020.  Together the committee considered a host of very qualified alumni for consideration as future Board Members.  The following alumni stood out as excellent candidates to join the Board of Visitors.”   

  • Angela Bartosik '93 (JD)—Chief Deputy Primary Public Defender
  • Ravi Batista '00 (JD)—Actor, Director, Teacher, Lawyer, Community Philanthropist
  • Hon. Michael Berg '81 (JD)—U.S. Magistrate Judge
  • Bibianne U. Fell '04 (JD)—Founding Partner, Fell Law
  • Haida Massoud Mojhedi '94 (JD)—Philanthropist, Community Supporter, Project Concern International Honoree
  • Todd Stevens '88 (JD)—Partner, Keeney, Waite & Stevens
  • Charles B. Witham '98 (JD), '99 (MBA)—Partner, Witham, Mahoney & Abbott, LLP

In addition to announcing new members of the Board of Visitors, the Board also considered the recommendation of the Board’s Steering Committee, to honor the exemplary service of dedicated members of the board by conferring Emeritus status to:

  • Elizabeth H. “Libby” Carson has been a dedicated member of this Board since 1974. She is quite possibly the longest serving member of this Board of Visitors.  She has devoted herself to robust support for the law school from her first day on the Board of Visitors.  Libby is the consummate community volunteer; she promotes the work and accomplishments of USD School of Law throughout San Diego.

  • Michael Kaplan ’72 (JD) has twice served as a member of the Board of Trustees, the Governing Board of the University—starting in 1988 and continuing through 2012 and he will have the distinction of being the only three time emeritus member following the Board of Visitor’s vote to admit Michael for the third time as an Emeriti of a USD board. He has served as an Emeritus member of the Board of Trustees for USD on two occasions and now he will be a lifetime member of the Board of Visitors.  Michael Kaplan also took a leave from the Board of Trustees to head up the Parents Association Board for the University. Michael Kaplan received the Author E. Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award from USD representing the law school.

  • Vickie Turner ’82 (JD) has served as a distinguished member of this Board since 1996. She is one of the founding partners of Wilson, Turner Kosmo in San Diego. Her firm is comprised of primarily female partners and associates. Turner long ago established the Turner Diversity Scholarship.  She served on the law school’s Comprehensive Campaign Committee with distinction and she has also been honored as an Author E. Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient as well as a Distinguished Alumni of USD School of Law (2009)—just to name a few of her many law school distinctions.

  • Stan Legro recently passed away. He will be sorely missed on this board, during USD commencement ceremonies and at the Dean’s and President’s University Receptions.  Stan served as both a member of the Board of Trustees (since 2010) for the University and the Board of Visitors for the law school (since 2001).  He devoted himself to Environmental Law, establishing the Stanley W. Legro Professor in Residence in Environmental Law at USD, in addition to the women’s scholar athlete scholarship awarded to female athletes at USD

Emeritus Status is a designation that is not conferred lightly and must be voted on and agreed to by a majority of the Board during their regular meeting.  This August, status is awarded for:

  • Unusual or distinctive and devoted service as a Board of Visitors Member for a number of terms
  • Actions and special personal qualities that have contributed significantly to the welfare of the law school to date
  • Exemplary attendance at Board and Committee meetings
  • A record of financial support consistent with his/her means
  • Strong external advocacy for the law school
  • Active involvement in the activities of the institution

Emeritus status was established by the Board’s Steering Committee six years ago and current Emeritus members of the Board include:

  • Susan Gonick '86 (JD)
  • Hon. J. Richard Haden (Ret.) '74 (JD)
  • John Henkel '77
  • Hon. Richard D. Huffman Honorary Degree
  • Peter J. Hughes (deceased)
  • Hon. Melinda J. Lasater '73 (JD)
  • Hon. Judith McConnell
  • Gerald McMahon '64 (JD) (deceased)
  • Virginia C. Nelson '79 (JD)
  • Thomas Sharkey '59 (JD)
  • Susanne Stanford '75 (JD)
  • Michael T. Thorsnes '68 (deceased)

View the 2020-21 USD Board of Visitors’ roster.

About the University of San Diego School of Law

Each year, USD educates approximately 800 Juris Doctor and graduate law students from throughout the United States and around the world.  The law school is best known for its offerings in the areas of business and corporate law, constitutional law, intellectual property, international and comparative law, public interest law and taxation.

USD School of Law is one of the 84 law schools elected to the Order of the Coif, a national honor society for law school graduates.  The law school's faculty is a strong group of outstanding scholars and teachers with national and international reputations and currently ranks 36th nationally among U.S. law faculties in scholarly impact and 22nd nationally in past-year faculty downloads on the Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN). The school is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. Founded in 1954, the law school is part of the University of San Diego, a private, independent, Roman Catholic university chartered in 1949.


Law Development & Donor Relations
(619) 260-4692


Contact Us

View Directory

83° 61°

Visit Campus

5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110