USD School of Law Professors Dov Fox and Mary Jo Wiggins 2020 Thorsnes Prize Recipients

Professors Dov Fox and Mary Jo Wiggins 2020 Thorsnes Prize Recipients

Professors Dov Fox and Mary Jo Wiggins

SAN DIEGO (May 26, 2020)  - The University of San Diego (USD) School of Law announced the recipients of the 2020 Thorsnes Prizes for Excellence in Teaching and for Outstanding Legal Scholarship.

Professor of Law Mary Jo Wiggins was awarded the 2020 Thorsnes Prize for Excellence in Teaching, which is bestowed annually based on a vote of upper-division law students. Professor of Law Dov Fox was awarded the 2020 Thorsnes Prize for Outstanding Legal Scholarship, which recognizes significant scholarly works.

About Professor Mary Jo Wiggins

Professor Mary Jo Wiggins writes and teaches in the areas of remedies, property, bankruptcy, debtor-creditor law and legal theory. She was recognized as the University Professor 2016-2017, the Herzog Endowed Scholar 1997-1998, Class of 1975 Endowed Professor 2009-2010


About Professor Dov Fox

Professor Dov Fox teaches and writes in the areas of health law and bioethics, the regulation of technology and criminal law. He is the director for the Center of Health Law Policy and Bioethics and the Herzog Endowed Scholar. Fox serves on the advisory boards of the Appellate Defenders, American Constitution Society, and Illumina Genomics. Fox also works on National Institutes of Health grants on topics in genomic privacy, translational medicine, and biomedical research ethics.

About the University of San Diego School of Law

Each year, USD educates approximately 800 Juris Doctor and graduate law students from throughout the United States and around the world.  The law school is best known for its offerings in the areas of business and corporate law, constitutional law, intellectual property, international and comparative law, public interest law and taxation.

USD School of Law is one of the 84 law schools elected to the Order of the Coif, a national honor society for law school graduates.  The law school’s faculty is a strong group of outstanding scholars and teachers with national and international reputations and currently ranks 36th nationally among U.S. law faculties in scholarly impact and 22nd nationally in past-year faculty downloads on the Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN). The school is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. Founded in 1954, the law school is part of the University of San Diego, a private, independent, Roman Catholic university chartered in 1949.


Catherine Spray
(619) 260-4207


Contact Us

View Directory

83° 61°

Visit Campus

5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110