USD School of Law Alumnus David S. Casey Jr. ’74 (JD) Will Be Awarded ABOTA’s 2019 Hughes McClenahan Award

David S. Casey, Jr. ’74 (JD) Awarded ABOTA’s 2019 Hughes McClenahan Award

David Casey, Jr.David Casey, Jr.

SAN DIEGO (December 16, 2019) – University of San Diego (USD) School of Law alumnus David S. Casey Jr., ‘74 (JD), will be awarded the 2019 Hughes McClenahan Award by the San Diego Chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA). This is the organization’s top honor for lawyers and legal practitioners, recognizing professionalism and civility.

The board unanimously decided to honor Casey with this award, noting his exceptional civility while practicing law in diverse forums. ABOTA noted Casey’s success in complex cases, and service on steering committees for suits against companies like Volkswagen and Fiat Chrysler Jeep Dodge.

Casey is best known for his work representing plaintiffs in a variety of high-profile cases. He has been active in the legal community as a former president of the Association of Trial Lawyers of America and as a member of Senator Dianne Feinstein’s judicial selection committee.

About the University of San Diego School of Law

Each year, USD educates approximately 800 Juris Doctor and graduate law students from throughout the United States and around the world.  The law school is best known for its offerings in the areas of business and corporate law, constitutional law, intellectual property, international and comparative law, public interest law and taxation.

USD School of Law is one of the 84 law schools elected to the Order of the Coif, a national honor society for law school graduates.  The law school's faculty is a strong group of outstanding scholars and teachers with national and international reputations and currently ranks 36th nationally among U.S. law faculties in scholarly impact and 22nd nationally in past-year faculty downloads on the Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN). The school is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. Founded in 1954, the law school is part of the University of San Diego, a private, independent, Roman Catholic university chartered in 1949.


Amy Inkrott


Contact Us

View Directory

83° 61°

Visit Campus

5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110