Top University Faculty Awards for 2020-21 Announced

Nine USD faculty members, of which six are visible here, were recently revealed as winners of top university awards for 2020-21 at USD.Nine USD faculty members were recently announced as winners of top university awards effective the 2020-21 academic year. The nine will receive their awards during convocation on Sept. 11, 2020.

Nine faculty members at the University of San Diego have been named to receive top university awards for 2020-21, Vice President and Provost Gail F. Baker, PhD, recently announced.

Five of the nine members are receiving University Professorships, two are being honored with Steber Professorships, and one School of Law professor has been tapped to receive the Herzog Endowed Scholar Award while another is feted as the Class of 1975 Endowed Professor.

The five University Professorships will be given to Rae M. Robertson Anderson, PhD, (College of Arts and Sciences – Physics and Biophysics), Kristen McCabe, PhD (CAS-Psychological Sciences), Miranda Perry Fleischer, JD, LLM (School of Law), Reyes Quezada, EdD, (School of Leadership and Education Sciences) and Pencheng (Phil) Zhu, PhD, (School of Business). This award is given to those who’ve demonstrated outstanding scholarly achievements in teaching and research. A University Professorship is the highest individual award that can be bestowed to a USD faculty member.

Two professors, Yen-Ting (Daniel) Lin, PhD, (School of Business) and Aaron Gross, PhD, (CAS-Theology and Religious Studies), are recipients of the Clarence L. Steber Professorship. The Steber Professorship recognizes substantial contributions in the areas of teaching, research and service. This award, made possible through a gift by Clarence L. Steber, is limited, by the intent of the donor, to faculty recipients in Theology and Religious Studies and the School of Business.

The Herzog Endowed Scholar and Class of 1975 Endowed Professor honors are limited to eligible School of Law professors. Mary Jo Wiggins, JD, will receive the Herzog Scholar recognition while Jean Ramirez, JD, is the Class of 1975 Endowed Professor. The Herzog Endowed Scholar Award recognizes the meritorious teaching and scholarly productivity of a professor in the School of Law. The Class of 1975 Endowed Professorship, established by the Class of 1975 as its 25-year reunion gift to the Law School, recognizes meritorious teaching, leadership, and academic accomplishments of a School of Law professor.

“We take great pride and joy in the contributions of the nine faculty members to their disciplines and to USD, and we’re delighted that their outstanding achievement is being recognized with these prestigious awards,” Dr. Baker said.

Each of the nine faculty members will be formally recognized for their award at USD’s Fall Convocation event, scheduled for Sept. 11, 2020.

— USD News Center


USD News Center
619-260-4600 x 6652