SOLES and the Department of Learning and Teaching to be Represented Nationally

AILACTE members have elected Dr. Reyes L. Quezada as President-Elect

Reyes Quezada

The Association of Independent Liberal Arts Colleges for Teacher Education (AILACTE) members have elected Dr. Reyes L. Quezada as President-Elect, Professor and Chair of the Department of Learning and Teaching. The beginning of his term coincides with the AILACTE Annual Conference, February 27-28, 2020 in Atlanta in conjunction with the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE) annual meeting as it is one of its affiliate associations. He is also in his third year as member of the Board of Directors of AACTE. He will serve from 2020-2021 as President-Elect, and between 2021-2023 he will serve as President. Dr. David Cherry, Whitworth University is the current President.

The purpose of AILACTE is to provide an effective voice from all fifty state members of  independent liberal arts institutions at the national, state, and campus level in matters related to teacher education; to provide a communication and information system for sharing concerns, issues, and viewpoints in teacher education as they pertain to member institutions; to raise the general level of awareness of the needs of member institutions and of those who do not fall within its membership; to make available to educational policy-making groups the talent, values and perspectives represented in the membership; and to cooperate with other associations to promote quality teacher education both at the undergraduate & graduate level.

As president, Dr. Quezada’s goals will be to increase the number of independent liberal arts teacher education institutions as well as to diversify its membership and to develop partnerships with other international education organizations, such as International Council for the Education of Teachers which is recognized by the United Nations as one of over 300 NGO’s.

AILACTE services include an annual conference, the AILACTE journal, and gives 4 Awards-(1). The AILACTE Diversity and Inclusion Change Agent Award. The award will be presented to a faculty member from an AILACTE institution who has been engaged in significant ways in the advancement of diversity, equity, and inclusion in the preparation of teacher candidates through teaching, service, and/or research. The awardee(s) will be invited to share their work in a presentation at the annual conference, and if applicable, submit a manuscript to the AILACTE journal or Views and News. Dr. Quezada Nominated Dr. James Fabionar and Dr. Suzanne Stolz for the 2019-20 Award for their work in the Department of Learning and Teaching by co-teaching EDTE-500P- Diversity, Inclusion, and Schooling and EDTE-511 Equity and Advocacy in Educational Systems for the past 3 semesters (Good luck to Dr’s. Fabionar and Stolz-recipients will be notified December 15th. They have also submitted a proposal for the annual conference along with Dr. Quezada), (2). The Scholar Award-The award will be given to a faculty member at an AILACTE institution in his or her first five years of appointment as a full-time faculty member to conduct research related to the impact of teacher preparation at AILACTE institutions, (3). Graduate Scholar Award -AILACTE seeks outstanding graduate student scholars to apply for the AILACTE Graduate Scholar Award. Recipients must be enrolled, at least half time as a graduate student in an AILACTE member school. The $1500 award is designed to enhance the professional development of the recipient and can be used for professional travel, support for professional work or research, and (4). The Models of Excellence Award identifies outstanding programs in professional education that serve as tangible models of quality in the areas of Moral and Ethical Dimensions of the Learning Community; Partnerships; Liberal Arts; and Global Awareness and Action.


Corinna Lewis