Top University Faculty Awards for 2021-22 Announced

Nine USD faculty members, of which six are visible here, were recently revealed as winners of top university awards for 2021-22 at USD.

Nine faculty members at the University of San Diego have been named to receive top university awards for 2021-22, Vice President and Provost Gail F. Baker, PhD, recently announced.

Five of the nine members are receiving University Professorships, two are being honored with Steber Professorships, one School of Law professor will receive the Herzog Endowed Scholar Award while another will be honored as the Class of 1975 Endowed Professor.

The five University Professorships will be given to Jonathan Bowman, PhD (College of Arts and Sciences - Communication Studies), Anne Koenig, PhD (College of Arts and Sciences - Psychological Sciences), Alyson Ma, PhD (School of Business), Mila Sohoni, JD (School of Law), and Austin Choi-Fitzpatrick, PhD (Joan B. Kroc School of Peace Studies). A University Professorship is the highest academic honor bestowed university-wide and is given in recognition of outstanding scholarly achievements in teaching and research.

Two professors, Rico Monge, PhD (CAS-Theology and Religious Studies) and Justine Rapp Farrell, PhD (School of Business), are recipients of the Clarence L. Steber Professorship. The Steber Professorship recognizes substantial contributions in the areas of teaching, research and service. This award, made possible through a gift by Clarence L. Steber, is limited, by the intent of the donor, to faculty recipients in Theology and Religious Studies and the School of Business.

The Herzog Endowed Scholar and Class of 1975 Endowed Professor honors are limited to eligible School of Law professors. Steven Smith, JD, will receive the Herzog Scholar recognition while Miranda McGowan, JD, is the Class of 1975 Endowed Professor. The Herzog Endowed Scholar Award recognizes the meritorious teaching and scholarly productivity of a professor in the School of Law. The Class of 1975 Endowed Professorship, established by the Class of 1975 as its 25-year reunion gift to the Law School, recognizes meritorious teaching, leadership, and academic accomplishments of a School of Law professor.

“We take great pride and joy in the contributions of the nine faculty members to their disciplines and to USD, and we’re delighted that their outstanding achievement is being recognized with these prestigious awards,” Dr. Baker said.

Each of the nine faculty members will be formally recognized for their award at USD’s Fall Convocation event.

— USD News Center