United Front Multicultural Commons: 2020 C.L.A.S.S. Award Winners

Elie Nyembo, one of the UFMC's CLASS 2020 Award winnersDavis Luanava, a graduating USD senior majoring in environmental and ocean sciences, received the UFMC's Award for Inspiration.

One of the United Front Multicultural Commons' signature events each year is its Diversity Banquet. It is a chance for undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, staff and community members to come together and celebrate excellence and inclusion and diversity on the USD campus while honoring graduating students and their accomplishments.

While there is not an in-person banquet this month — it was to be the 15th banquet — due to the COVID-19 pandemic and a restriction on larger gatherings, the awards, which were created in 2006, honor undergraduate and graduate students for their achievements and contributions to USD in the areas of Campus-Wide Impact, Leadership, Academics, Social Justice, and Service (CLASS).

This year's CLASS awards were announced first via social media. Nominees were announced May 8 and winners were then showcased each day, May 11-15, on UFMC's Facebook page and @usdufmc Instagram. Listed below are the award names, recipients, major or academic program and USD school. For a more detailed look at each award recipient, please visit the UFMC's special 2020 C.L.A.S.S. Awards newsletter.

The L. Reuben Mitchell Award for Campus-wide Impact: Elie Nyembo, Undergraduate Student, Ethnic Studies major (College of Arts and Sciences); Andrea Aduna, Graduate Student, MA Higher Education Leadership (School of Leadership and Education Sciences).

The Dr. Evelyn Kirkley Award for Leadership: Jenelle Seguin, Undergraduate, Business Administration, Marketing and Finance (USD School of Business); Andrea Garcia, Graduate, MA, Higher Education Leadership (SOLES).

The Dr. Joseph Colombo Award for Academics: Tatiana Zamora, Undergraduate, Psychology (CAS).

The Dr. Judy Rauner Award for Social Justice: Gabriel Fallis, Undergraduate, Ethnic Studies (CAS); Hannah Gray-Chambers, Graduate, MA Higher Education Leadership (SOLES).

The Dr. Judith Liu Award for Service: Daniel Rodriguez, Undergraduate, Architecture and Spanish (CAS); Donna Soukantouy, Graduate, MA Higher Education Leadership (SOLES).

The United Front Multicultural Commons Award for Inspiration: Davis Luanava, Undergraduate, Environmental and Ocean Sciences (CAS).

— USD News Center


USD News Center
619-260-4600 x 6652