Major Awards Recognition for Volleyball, Football Teams, Soccer Players

After earning their 11th West Coast Conference title in program history with a 17-1 conference record, three players on the San Diego women’s volleyball team received major WCC awards and a total of nine Toreros were recognized, as announced by the conference on Dec. 2.

Fall 2019 USD Athletics Honorees

Senior Anna Newsome was named Setter of the Year, opposite Grace Frohling was named Freshman of the Year and Jennifer Petrie took home Coach of the Year.
Newsome and Frohling were also All-WCC first-team selections, along with Thana Fayad and Megan Jacobsen. Frohling earned a spot on the All-WCC Freshman Team as well.
USD's four first-team selections ties for the most in program history (2004).
Katie Lukes took home second-team honors, while Annie Benbow and Lauren Turner were both All-WCC honorable mentions. Turner also joined Frohling on the conference's all-freshman team to round out the season awards.
Newsome was outstanding in her senior campaign, directing USD's offense to a .286 hitting percentage which ranked first in the WCC and seventh in the nation. Newsome averaged 9.33 assists per set (980 total) and ramped things up in WCC play with 10.13, which ranked second in the conference. Newsome also collected a team-high 31 aces on the season and recorded seven double-doubles, adding 240 digs.
Frohling made an immediate impact for the Toreros, collecting 237 kills (2.52 per set) and a team-high 26 aces — 22 in WCC play. Frohling also tallied 60 total blocks to average 3.13 points per set, which ranks second-highest for USD.
Petrie led the Toreros to their first outright title since 2013 and fifth in the past 10 seasons. Petrie recorded her 400th career victory in an Oct. 3 sweep of Saint Mary's. The Toreros made their 10th straight NCAA Tournament appearance and 19th in Petrie's 21 seasons. This is the sixth Coach of the Year honor for Petrie.
Fayad and Jacobsen provided tremendous fire-power for the San Diego offense. Fayad led the Toreros with 280 kills (2.89 per set) and averaged 3.06 kills per set in conference play to rank top-10 in the WCC. Fayad tallied nine double-doubles as a six-rotation player, collecting 242 digs to rank second on the team.
Jacobsen ranked eighth in the country in hitting percentage (.411) and third on the team with 273 kills (2.60 per set). Jacobsen averaged 2.70 kills in WCC play, hitting at a .426 clip to rank first in the conference. The senior middle also provided a strong defensive presence at the net, finishing second on the team with 80 blocks (10 solo).
Lukes finished second on the team with 274 kills (2.80 per set, hitting at a .282 clip. Benbow was outstanding in her first season as starting libero, collecting a team-high 365 digs (3.51 per set). Turner joined Benbow, leading the defensive efforts for USD with a team-high 108 blocks (20 solo) and added 148 kills.


A slew of Pioneer Football League awards were recently announced and 2019 PFL champion San Diego had several players honored as well as its head coach, Dale Lindsey, earning Coach of the Year.

Lindsey, a national coach of the year finalist and three-time winner of the PFL coach of the year honor, Lindsey led the Toreros to an undefeated conference record for the fourth straight year — a league-first — and guided them to their sixth straight championship and fourth consecutive FCS Playoffs appearance.

Lindsey, the second winningest active coach in the FCS, is 53-3 (.946) in his PFL career (28-0 at home) and has lifted the Toreros to six PFL titles in seven years at the helm. He has helped them win 37-straight conference games, the second-longest streak in FCS history and longest active streak in all of Division I. The 53 wins, meanwhile, are the third-most in PFL history.

Punter Tanner Kuljian was named PFL Special Teams Player of the Year. A redshirt junior, Kuljian led all PFL punters with an average punt of 40.6 yards in conference games. For the entire season, he averaged 40.1 yards on 38 punts, half of which ended in fair catches while 12 were pinned inside the 20-yard line. He had six punts over 50 yards, including a season-long of 60. In addition to his punting duties, Kuljian was 2-of-3 in field goals, with his only miss being of 50+ yards, and had 45 touchbacks on his 82 kickoffs.

The All-PFL Teams were named and San Diego had 24 players recognized, including a league-high eight on the first team, six on the second team and another 10 as honorable mentions. Of the 24 who were honored, 15 will be returning for the 2020 season.

Just as prideful as it is being selected for performance on the field, four Torero football players were recognized by the PFL for their work in the classroom. San Diego's Reid Sinnett, Alex Spadone, Kama Kamaka and Brandon Micale were named to the Academic All-PFL Teams.

Sinnett, Spadone and Kamaka were first-team selections while Micale was named to the second team. Sinnett (3.36 GPA, Finance) and Kamaka (3.60, Accountancy) captured on-the-field and academic honors as both were also named All-PFL First Team. For Micale, the honor is the second of his career as the junior (Electrical Engineering, 3.98) was named to the Academic All-PFL Second Team in 2018. Spadone (3.80, Accountancy), in a breakout junior campaign in which he finished third on the team in receiving, earned his first Academic All-PFL honor.

Men’s Soccer

San Diego's Miguel Berry, the 2019 WCC Co-Player of the Year and semifinalist for the national player of the year award, added to his accolades as he was named a 2019 CoSIDA Academic All-American, as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) on Dec. 5.

Berry, who was named to the third team, is the first to be named Academic All-American and WCC Player of the Year in school and conference history. He is the first Torero Academic All-American since 2014.

A finance major with a 3.36 GPA, Berry helped the Toreros to their most wins in seven years by tying for the nation's lead in goals with 17 and pacing the country in points with 42 at the conclusion of the regular season. His goals and points were the most in a season by a Torero since 2000.

Berry ended his USD career as a three-time All-WCC First Team performer in addition to conference player of the year and Academic All-American. The Poway, Calif. product's 38 career goals are third-most in program history while his 92 career points are fourth-best.

Berry joins Julian Ringhof (2014), Tyler Conley (2002), Mike Brille (1990) and Scott Huckleberry (1987) as the five Toreros in program history to earn Academic All-American honors.

A native of Spain, Berry will learn the week of Dec. 9 if he has been named an All-American as well as a finalist for the 2019 MAC Hermann Trophy (December 13).

Women’s Soccer

Amber Michel and Milan Moses earned All-West Region second team honors as announced by United Soccer Coaches on Dec. 4. This marks the second consecutive year Toreros have been named to the All-Region team after Summer Mason earned second team honors last season.

“Across the country, there is a group of players who have made an impact on their teams and I'm so proud these two are among them,” said USD head coach Louise Lieberman. "They have earned every moment, and I'm proud of what they have helped us create at San Diego."

Michel and Moses will graduate atop San Diego's record books, garnering multiple postseason awards. Both players earned All-WCC honors with Michel being named to the second team and Moses earning first team accolades. The duo finished their career among the top-10 in multiple statistical categories.


USD News Center
619-260-4600 x 6652