Nine Faculty Members Honored with 2018-19 University Awards

Monday, September 10, 2018

Nine University of San Diego faculty members — three each from the School of Law and the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS), two from the School of Business and one from the Hahn School of Nursing and Health Science — received top university awards for 2018-19 from USD President James T. Harris, DEd, and Vice President and Provost Gail F. Baker, PhD, at the annual Fall Convocation on Sept. 7.

Five professors — Roy Brooks, JD, (Law), Joseph Burkard, DNSc, (Nursing), Thomas Reifer, PhD (CAS-Sociology), Lori Watson, PhD (CAS-Philosophy) and Carsten Zimmerman, PhD, (Business) — were selected for a University Professorship. This award goes to those who have demonstrated outstanding scholarly achievements in teaching and research supporting the mission and goals of USD. A University Professorship is the highest individual award that can be bestowed to a USD faculty member.

Two professors, Rangapriya Kannan-Narasimhan, PhD, (Business) and Karen Teel, PhD, (CAS-Theology and Religious Studies), were recipients of the Clarence L. Steber Professorship. The Steber Professorship recognizes substantial contributions in the areas of teaching, research and service. This award, made possible through a gift by Clarence L. Steber, is limited, by the intent of the donor, to faculty recipients in Theology and Religious Studies and the School of Business.

Two awards — the Herzog Endowed Scholar and the Class of 1975 Endowed Professor — are limited to School of Law professors. Dov Fox, DPhil, JD, received the Herzog Scholar recognition and Orly Lobel, SJD, is the Class of 1975 Endowed Professor recipient. The Herzog Endowed Scholar Award recognizes the meritorious teaching and scholarly productivity of a professor in the School of Law. The Class of 1975 Endowed Professorship, established by the Class of 1975 as its 25-year reunion gift to the Law School, recognizes meritorious teaching, leadership, and academic accomplishments of a School of Law professor.

“We can all take great pride and joy in the contributions of these nine faculty to their disciplines and to the University of San Diego, and we are delighted their outstanding achievements are being recognized with these prestigious awards,” Baker said when the awards were first announced in February.

The awards highlighted the convocation ceremony, which also included President Harris recapping a few university matters, praising the efforts of faculty, staff and the university on recent accomplishments. Likewise, Vice President and Provost Baker recognized several acheivements and she provided introductions for each of the faculty awardees. Dr. Joi Spencer from the School of Leadership and Education Sciences opened the ceremony with a stirring invocation that included quotes from Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

— USD News Center

Professor Awards 2018-19Nine USD faculty members received top university honors at the 2018-19 Fall Convocation, held Sept. 7 in the Kroc Institute for Peace and Justice Theatre.


USD News Center
(619) 260-4681

College of Arts and Sciences

Contact Us Email

Phone: (619) 260-4600
Fax: (619) 260-4162

Visit Campus Map

Founders Hall
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110