Cropper Writers Series Announced for 2018-2019

Friday, August 31, 2018

The Department of English is pleased to announce this year's Lindsay J. Cropper Memorial Writers Series events.

  • Thursday, Oct. 4, 12:30 p.m.: Barrie Cropper Memorial Lecture on the Craft of Creative Writing: Nonfiction writer Leslie Jamison; in the Humanities Center, 12:30 p.m.

  • Thursday, Oct. 4, 6 p.m.: Lindsay J. Cropper Memorial Writers Series, nonfiction reading: Leslie Jamison; in Warren Auditorium, MRH; Q&A and dessert reception following the reading

  • Thursday, Nov. 8, 6 p.m.: Lindsay J. Cropper Memorial Writers Series, fiction reading: Dennis Clausen; in Warren Auditorium, MRH; Q&A and dessert reception following the reading

  • Thursday, March 21, 2019 at 7 p.m.: Lindsay J. Cropper Memorial Writers Series, poetry reading: U.S. Poet Laureate Tracy K. Smith; in KIPJ Theater; Q&A and dessert reception following the reading

Leslie Jamison is the author of the recently released work of nonfiction, The Recovering: Intoxication and Its Aftermath, the highly acclaimed essay collection The Empathy Exams, and a novel, The Gin Closet. Her work has appeared in The New York Times Magazine, Harper's, Oxford American, and The Believer, among others. She attended the Iowa Writers' Workshop and currently teaches at Columbia University, where she directs the nonfiction concentration.

Dennis M. Clausen has been a professor of American literature and screenwriting at the University of San Diego for forty-six years. His novel, The Accountant’s Apprentice, his first literary project set in San Diego, was recently selected as a “First Place” recipient in the 2016 Cygnus Awards category sponsored by the Chanticleer International Book Awards competitions. The novel is scheduled for publication by Sunbury Press this fall. Some of his other published works include Screenwriting and Literature (2009), published by Kendall-Hunt, that explores the relationships between screenwriting and novel writing. Mid-List Press published Prairie Son (1999), a book of creative nonfiction that has been taught in many schools and colleges. Dave Woods, Past Vice-President of the National Book Critics Circle, wrote, “Prairie Son, the winner of the 1999 First Series Creative Nonfiction Award, attracted all manner of national attention, a consummation devoutly to be wished for by a small publisher.” Prairie Son was nominated for several major book awards, and the University of Minnesota voted it one of the “five most favorite books published in 1999 by a University of Minnesota alumnus.”

In 2017, Tracy K. Smith was appointed the 22nd United States Poet Laureate. She is the author of the critically acclaimed memoir Ordinary Light (Knopf, 2015) and three books of poetry, including her most recent Wade in the Water (Graywolf, 2018). Her collection Life on Mars won the 2012 Pulitzer Prize and was selected as a New York Times Notable Book. Duende won the 2006 James Laughlin Award from the Academy of American Poets and an Essence Literary Award. The Body’s Question was the winner of the 2002 Cave Canem Poetry Prize. Smith was the recipient of a Rona Jaffe Writers Award in 2004 and a Whiting Award in 2005. In 2014, the Academy of American Poets awarded Smith with the Academy Fellowship, awarded to one poet each year to recognize distinguished poetic achievement. She is the Roger S. Berlind ’52 Professor in the Humanities, and Director of the Creative Writing Program at Princeton University.

We look forward to seeing you at these events, and best wishes for your semester!

Cropper Series


Halina Duraj
(619) 260-7429

Contact Us Email

Phone: (619) 260-4600
Fax: (619) 260-4162

Visit Campus Map

Founders Hall
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110