Nine USD Professors Receive Top Faculty Awards

Friday, September 13, 2019

Top USD Professor Award recipients for 2019-20 academic yearNine USD faculty members were announced as the 2019-20 recipients of top professor awards, including five who received a University Professorship. Awards will be bestowed on Sept. 13, 2019.

University of San Diego Vice President and Provost Gail F. Baker, PhD, introduced and recognized nine USD faculty members who received top university awards for the 2019-2020 academic year at today's Faculty and Staff Fall Convocation in the Kroc Institute for Peace and Justice Theatre.

Five professors — Jordan Barry (School of Law), Timothy Clark (College of Arts and Sciences), Evelyn Diaz Cruz (College of Arts and Sciences), Andrea Godfrey Flynn (School of Business) and Frank Jacobitz (Shiley-Marcos School of Engineering) — were bestowed a University Professorship.

The award, which is the highest individual award that can be bestowed to a USD faculty member, goes to those who have demonstrated outstanding scholarly achievements in teaching and research supporting the mission and goals of USD.

Two professors, Dr. Susan Paulik Babka (CAS-Theology and Religious Studies) and Dr. Tara Salinas (School of Business), received the Clarence L. Steber Professorship.

The Steber Professorship recognizes substantial contributions in the areas of teaching, research and service. This award, made possible through a gift by Clarence L. Steber, is limited, by the intent of the donor, to faculty recipients in Theology and Religious Studies and the School of Business.

Two awards — the Herzog Endowed Scholar and the Class of 1975 Endowed Professor — are limited to School of Law professors.

Sharmila Sohoni received the Herzog Endowed Scholar honor and Michael Rappaport is the Class of 1975 Endowed Professor recipient.

The Herzog Endowed Scholar Award recognizes the meritorious teaching and scholarly productivity of a professor in the School of Law. The Class of 1975 Endowed Professorship, established by the Class of 1975 as its 25-year reunion gift to the Law School, recognizes meritorious teaching, leadership, and academic accomplishments of a School of Law professor.

“We can all take great pride and joy in the contributions of these nine faculty to their disciplines and to the University of San Diego, and we are delighted their outstanding achievements are being recognized with these prestigious awards,” Baker said.

— USD News Center Staff


USD News Center
(619) 260-4681