About Us

The Center for Intellectual Property Law and Markets trains students in the fundamental of intellectual property laws and in the ways that clients use intellectual property rights to compete in real-world markets. The center also provides a forum where lawyers, clients, judges, and policymakers can share ideas about IP doctrines and policies. The center’s policy workshops focus on the intersection between economic analysis and IP policy. Importantly, they provide opportunities for students and community members to engage current IP policy issues.

Directors: Center for Intellectual Property Law and Markets

Lyle L. Jones Professor of Competition and Innovation Law

David McGowan is the Lyle L. Jones Professor of Competition and Innovation Law at the University of San Diego School of Law, where he teaches and writes in the areas of intellectual property (IP), antitrust and legal ethics. His research addresses topics such as antitrust policy in software markets, the implications of network effects for IP policy, legal problems associated with standard-setting organizations, open-source software development, and the elements of judgment students must acquire to develop judgment about practicing law.

Professor of Law Ted Sichelman

Ted Sichelman’s areas of expertise include intellectual property and artificial intelligence & law. Along with being the director of the Center for Intellectual Property Law & Markets, Sichelman is also the founder and director of the Center for Computation, Mathematics, and the Law. Prof. Sichelman was recently ranked as the 11th most-cited U.S. scholar in intellectual property law.

Faculty Members

Abraham Bell
Professor of Law

Dov Fox
Professor of Law

Herbert Lazerow
Professor of Law

Mark Lee
Professor in Residence

Orly Lobel
Professor of Law

Shawn Miller
Professor in Residence 

Lisa P. Ramsey
Professor of Law

Thomas A. Smith
Professor of Law

Adjunct Faculty Members

Mark Abumeri
Leica Biosystems

Michaal Amon
Fish & Richardson

Beth Baier
The Walt Disney Company

Matthew Bresnahan
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati

Kayla Jimenez
US IP Attorneys

Anthony Mauriello
DrChrono, Inc.

Joseph Reisman
Knobbe Martens

Oliver Richards
Fish & Richardson

Marcel Saucet
Professor of Law 

Maria Stout
Knobbe Martens