​Mother Rosalie Clifton Hill Award

About the Award

In honor of the Reverend Mother Rosalie Clifton Hill, the university's Mother Rosalie Hill Award is presented annually to a university-wide alumnus/a who personifies the spirit and philosophy of the University of San Diego. Since 1991, the inaugural year the award was granted, there has only been one law school recipient.

Nominate a USD Law Alumnus/a for the Mother Rosalie Clifton Hill Award

Award Recipients from the School of Law

Ronson J. Shamoun '98 (BA), '02 (JD), '03 (LLM)

2021 Recipient
Adjunct professor, School of Law and School of Business
School of Law Board of Visitors and School of Business Board of Advisors

  • LLM, 2003, University of San Diego
  • JD, 2002, University of San Diego
  • BA, 1998, University of San Diego

Shamoun is the founder and CEO of RJS LAW, A Tax Law Firm. Shamoun and his experienced team of attorneys specialize in all areas of tax law including, international tax, estate planning, bankruptcy, and criminal law. 

In 2016, Shamoun co-founded the nationally acclaimed University of San Diego School of Law – RJS LAW Tax Controversy Institute. The Institute is the premier tax controversy event in San Diego and brings together the region’s top tax attorneys, CPAs, and Law and Business School professors to discuss topics including federal and state tax strategies, tax penalties, and criminal tax matters. It is an event that allows the entire tax community to come together to learn, network, and grow as tax professionals. Additionally, the event raises money for various programs in the law school, such as scholarships and their tax clinic. 

In 2017, Shamoun was recognized with the School of Law’s Distinguished Alumni Award. This award is presented annually to alumni who have distinguished themselves in the legal field or other chosen professions at an exemplary level and embody the high ethical standards and commitment to community service USD School of Law seeks to instill in its graduates. 

Shamoun has served on numerous professional, civic and legal committees, and is an advocate and ally for education. He has established annual scholarships at both the School of Law and the School of Business to encourage student success and the growth of our community.

Sister Sally Furay '72

1992 Recipient
Adjunct professor of law and School of Law legal clinic supervisor (1973-1993)
Vice president and provost of the University of San Diego (1972-1996)

  • JD, 1972, University of San Diego
  • PhD, 1955, Stanford University
  • MA, 1952, San Francisco College for Women
  • BA, 1949, Duchesne College

While vice president and provost of the University of San Diego, Sister Sally Furay proposed and taught a course on sex discrimination and the law for the School of Law. Remembering the process of putting together the curriculum back in 1974, she says that the law was "ripe with blatant sex discrimination," and that "USD was on the cutting edge. No textbook existed at the time."

Sister Furay started teaching literature and drama at USD's College for Women prior to its merger with the College for Men and the School of Law. While serving as the academic dean of the College for Women, she became interested in the legal aspects of college administration and decided to attend USD's School of Law. She passed the California Bar Examination in 1972 and went on to serve as USD's vice president and provost for 25 years.

Sister Furay has served on numerous professional, civic and legal committees, including as a member of the Board of Directors of the San Diego County Bar Association, vice president of the San Diego County Bar Association, chair of Senator Boxer's Judicial Appointments Advisory Committee for the Southern District of California, the first woman president of the Western College Association and board chair of the National Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities.