Kyoto Prize Symposium

The Inamori Foundation and the University of San Diego present
The 17th Annual Kyoto Prize Symposium
Featuring Ms. Joan Jonas, Recipient of the 2018 Kyoto Prize in Arts and Philosophy, Thought and Ethics


Joan Jonas / Artist / Professor Emerita, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Please join us for the following events, which are free and open to the public:

Kyoto Prize Presentation

Ms. Joan Jonas will deliver a lecture titled "Joan Jonas: 1968 to the present."
Thursday, March 21, 2019
10:30 a.m. – 12 p.m.
Shiley Theatre, Camino Hall, University of San Diego
Register for Kyoto Prize Symposium.


"The ArtStory"

A workshop and panel discussion featuring Ms. Joan Jonas
Thursday, March 21, 2019
2:30 - 4 p.m.
Kroc Institute for Peace and Justice Theater, University of San Diego
Register for Workshop and Panel.

Registration is required; please register using the links above.

About Joan Jonas

2018 Kyoto Prize Laureate in Arts and Philosophy
Prize Field: Arts (Painting, Sculpture, Craft, Architecture, Photography, Design, etc.)

An Artist Who Pioneered New Artistic Expression by Integrating Performance Art and New Media, Remaining at the Forefront of Contemporary Art for 50 Years

Ms. Jonas created a new artistic form by integrating performance art and video art, and has evolved her original medium at the forefront of contemporary art continuously. Creating labyrinth-like works that lead audiences to diverse interpretations, she hands down the legacy of 1960s avant-garde art by developing it into a postmodern framework, profoundly impacting artists of later generations.

Read more about Ms. Jonas.

About the Kyoto Prize Symposium

The Kyoto Prize is an international award to honor those who have contributed significantly to the scientific, cultural, and spiritual betterment of mankind. The Kyoto Prize Symposium is a three-day celebration of the works of those receiving the Kyoto Prize. Thanks to a grant from the Inamori Foundation, and the many generous supporters, the symposium lectures take place in San Diego each year and are open to the public at no charge.

Learn more about the history of the prize.