2015 Spring Conference

Restoring Respect - 4th Annual Conference on Restoring Civility to Civic Dialogue

Announcing the winners of the CAwards: Celebrating Civility Awards: Creating Civility On Our Campuses and In Our Community scholarship competition open to all San Diego Unified High School Seniors.


Joan Kroc Institute For Peace and Justice
The University of San Diego
5998 Alcala Park
San Diego, CA


Friday, March 20, 2014
Registration: 8:00 a.m. - 8:30 a.m.
Conference: 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Garden of the Sky Plaza
Kroc Institute for Peace and Justice

Keynote Speaker:

Steven P. Dinkin Steven P. Dinkin President, National Conflict Resolution Center
Steven P. Dinkin has directed the NCRC since 2003. He currently serves as co-chair of the ADR Section of the San Diego County Bar and is a member of California Western School of Law’s Council of Visitors. Mr. Dinkin earned his J.D. from George Washington University Law School where he also subsequently taught a mediation clinic as an Adjunct Law Professor. Before joining NCRC, Steve served for several years as an employment and workplace mediator for the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission and other Federal agencies.

Opening Remarks:

Reverend George Walker Smith Reverend George Walker Smith Founder, Catfish Club of San Diego
Mary Lyons, Ph.D. Mary Lyons, Ph.D. President of the University of San Diego
Constance Carroll, Ph.D. Constance Carroll, Ph.D. Chancellor, San Diego Community College District
Cindy Marten Cindy Marten Superintendent San Diego Unified School District


Greg Cox Greg Cox San Diego County Board of Supervisors
Karla Peterson Karla Peterson UT San Diego Reporter
Mary Walshok Ph.D. Mary Walshok Ph.D. Associate Vice Chancellor for Public Programs and Dean of Extension at the University of California, San Diego
Steven P. Dinkin Steven P. Dinkin President, National Conflict Resolution Center


Carl Luna, Ph.D. Carl Luna, Ph.D. Professor of Political Science, San Diego Mesa College

Principal Program Sponsor: San Diego Gas & Electric

SDGE - Sempra logo