Fraternity Recruitment Information

Recruitment Requirements

In order to participate in Fall 2019 Formal Fraternity Recruitment, students:

  • Must have completed 12 USD units or 24 transfer units.
  • Must have at least a 2.50 cumulative GPA.
  • Recruitment registration opens June 1st, 2019. Must complete the Registration Form no later than 11:59pm on Sunday, September 15, 2019.
  • Complete the New Student Wellness Course:
    • Any new first-year and transfer students enrolled after Spring 2018 need to complete AlcoholEdu & Sexual Assault Prevention for Undergraduates prior to start of recruitment week. 
    • Any new first-year and transfer students enrolled at USD before Fall 2018, is required that you have completed and passed the My Student Body Essentials Course. If you did not complete this in the past, please contact the Center for Health and Wellness Promotion at chwp@sandiego.edu for access to the newly updated wellness courses that you will be required to complete. 
  • Complete the USD Transportation Liability Waiver
    • Under the activities section please insert the following values:
    • Organization:  IFC
    • Activity:  Fall 2019 Fraternity Recruitment and Transportation
    • Date of Activity: 09/12/2019 - 09/22/2019
    • Transportation:  Vehicle
  • $15 fee for all registered potential new members .

**Students not meeting these requirements will NOT be eligible to receive a bid. There are no late registrations**

Fall 2019 Recruitment Schedule 

Thursday, September 12, 2019: Fraternity Recruitment Kick Off - UC Forum C at 7:00pm - 9:00pm

Sunday, September 15, 2019: Deadline to Register @ 11:59pm

Saturday, September 14, 2019 - Friday, September 20, 2019: Individual Chapter Recruitment EventsCheck back later for a finalized list of locations & times

Saturday, September 21, 2019 - Sunday, September 22, 2019: Chapter Preference Events, By Invite Only

Tuesday, September 24, 2019: Bid DayThose who receive bids from chapters will be notified beforehand of the location 

Chapter Recruitment Officers

You may contact the following members for more information on specific chapters and recruitment:

Name Affiliation Contact Information
Loson Stockton Beta Theta Pi lstockton@sandiego.edu 
David Cardali Delta Tau Delta dcardali@sandiego.edu 

Sky Petretti

Mitch Reilly

Phi Gamma Delta

spetretti@sandiego.edu  

mitchreilly@sandiego.edu 

Mason Daniels Phi Kappa Theta masondaniels@sandiego.edu
Erick Iannaccone Pi Kappa Phi eiannaccone@sandiego.edu 
Matthew Konnick Sigma Phi Epsilon mkonnick@sandiego.edu 
Danny Shultz Sigma Pi dshultz@sandiego.edu  


Recruitment FAQs

Q: How do I complete the New Student Wellness Course requirement?

AlcoholEdu for College and Sexual Assault Prevention for Undergraduates are the required new student education courses for all first year and transfer students to complete. Please click on this link for further information on course access: https://www.sandiego.edu/health-wellness/new-student-education/ 

Q: Do I have to complete the New Student Wellness Courses?

Yes. We require that every potential new member complete AND pass the required wellness courses. If you have problems completing or accessing the wellness courses, you will want to contact the Center for Health and Wellness Promotion at chwp@sandiego.edu.

Q: Where is Recruitment held?

Recruitment events are mostly held on campus, except for some individual chapter events. 

Q: What if I do not sign up for recruitment by the deadline?

You will be ineligible to receive a bid during the formal recruitment process. 

If you have any further questions about recruitment, or would like to speak with someone directly, please contact Brendan Burke, the IFC Vice President of Membership, at usdifcrecruitment@gmail.com. You may also contact Chad Reyes, Graduate Assistant for Fraternity and Sorority Life and IFC Advisor, at chadreyes@sandiego.edu or (619) 260-4600 ext. 6925.

Last updated 08/22/2019