Starpoint Award

Rewarding student innovation.

The Starpoint Award was established by business leaders David Cohn and Carl Delia, who were both instrumental in the development and launch of USD's Etrack Engineering Entrepreneurship program. This award will fund $30,000 of the total $45,000 in seed money that will be awarded at Etrack’s Torero Entrepreneurship Challenge (TECh) competition on April 8, 2021. Awarding is based on the most successful demonstration of technological innovation or new product service development and its alignment to markets. Projects that also address improved social conditions, the environment or quality of life are highly encouraged.

Enter the TECh Competition

Student teams can present their venture to industry professionals and real angel investors for a chance to compete for up to $45,000 in seed money at the Torero Entrepreneurship Challenge (TECh) on April 8, 2021. Any USD student team with a technology component, regardless of their degree program, is eligible to compete for the Starpoint Award. The award must be used to advance the project. The 2021 TECh submission deadline is March 26, 2021. Visit our TECh competition page for eligibility and submission details.

Starpoint Accelerator: $3,000 to Build Momentum

Starpoint Accelerator

The Starpoint Accelerator competition takes place on March 4, 2021 from 12:15 - 2:15 p.m. PST and is funded through the Starpoint Award. This event serves as a feeder competition to boost selected projects and their entrepreneurs towards a more professional pitch before the big TECh event on April 8th. USD teams who submit their applications by March 2, 2021 are eligible to compete for up to $3,000 each to help accelerate their plan and investor presentation development. Participation is not a prerequisite to participate in the TECh competition, but is highly encouraged. All submission requirements for the Starpoint Accelerator competition mirror those of the TECh competitionSubmit your pitch for the Starpoint Accelerator by March 2, 2021.


For more details about the Starpoint Award or Starpoint Accelerator competition, please contact Etrack's co-facutly leads Venkat Shastri, PhD or Jeff Teza.