Commuter Assistant

The Commuter Assistant position was created to provide a parallel to the Resident Assistant role within Residential Life. Commuter Assistants (CAs) work in partnership with the Department of Community and Leadership Development to provide resources and experiences that help commuter students feel a sense of connection and belonging at USD. Commuter Assistants provide outreach and support to new commuter students throughout the pre-arrival onboarding experience, orientation, and the academic year. Commuter Assistants also staff the Commuter Student Commons, with a focus on community building and engagement. Commuter Assistants have the responsibility as student leaders of getting to know commuter students, building community with them, and learning about their needs and interests. Commuter Assistants work in collaboration with students to provide resources that support their transition to USD and their overall experience at the university.

CA Contact Information

All First-Year Commuter students are assigned a Commuter Assistant who sends weekly newsletters and campus resources. Some CAs offer office hours where one can drop-in for a quick chat or if they have a question about the newsletter. First-Years, please remember to schedule your required check-in with your CA. 

Alexa Gonzalezalexagonzalez@sandiego.edu 

Carlos Sanchez- csanchez1@sandiego.edu  

Maya Badranimbadrani@sandiego.edu 

Sara Badranisbadrani@sandiego.edu  

Tiffany Truongttruong@sandiego.edu  

Victoria (Tori) Nguyenvictorianguyen@sandiego.edu