Torero Tidbits: ASG Senate Elections Sept. 4/5; Faculty Awards; Make-Up Class on Saturday, Sept. 12

Torero Tidbits: ASG Senate Elections Sept. 4/5; Faculty Awards; Make-Up Class on Saturday, Sept. 12

ASG Senators Election: Online Voting Sept. 4-5 

It's time to rock your vote. The election has arrived. No, not the national election — but yes, it would be smart for all students to check out the University of San Diego’s USD Votes website and get registered to vote for that "other" big election on Nov. 3.

But for the next 48 hours, Friday, Sept. 4 and Saturday, Sept. 5, the USD MySanDiego portal is where the Associated Student Government will conduct an election to determine a number of vacant senator positions. There are 10 Residential Senator slots, seven each for Commuter and At-Large Senators and six for Academic Senators.

The 10 spots for Residential Senators cover Maher Hall, Manchester, Point Loma Palisades/Pacific Ridge, San Buenaventura, UTAs/PTA, Valley A, Valley B, Valley C/SAPS (temporary while Camino-Founders is offline) and Vista Apartments.

The six Academic Senator positions are for the College of Arts and Sciences (four) — Arts, Humanities, Natural Sciences and Social Sciences — and one each for the School of Business and the Shiley-Marcos School of Engineering.

The At-Large Senator spots, which were created in Spring 2019, are elected by the entire student body instead of a specific subsect.

Voting results are expected to be announced on Tuesday, Sept. 8 and a swearing-in ceremony is scheduled for Sept. 17.

Rock the online vote, Toreros!

Virtual Faculty-Staff Convocation to Honor Nine Award Winners

One major part of the 2020-21 USD faculty convocation event, scheduled to take place virtually on Friday, September 11, is the awarding of nine faculty members — five University Professorships, two Steber Professorships, and, from the USD School of Law, the Herzog Endowed Scholar Award recipient and the Class of 1975 Endowed Professorship.

The University Professorship, the highest academic honor bestowed university-wide and given in recognition of outstanding scholarly achievements in teaching and research, will be given to: Dr. Rae Anderson, Chair and Associate Professor of Physics and Biophysics, College of Arts and Sciences; Dr. Kristen McCabe, Professor of Psychological Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences; Miranda Perry Fleisher, JD, Professor of Law, Co-Director of Graduate Tax Programs, USD School of Law; Dr. Reyes Quezada, Professor and Chair of Department of Learning and Teaching, School of Leadership and Education Sciences; and Dr. Pencheng (Phil) Zhu, Associate Professor of Finance, School of Business.

Receiving the Steber Professor award is in recognition of a faculty member’s substantial contributions in the areas of teaching, research, and service and is limited, by the intent of the donor, Clarence L. Steber, to one faculty member in the School of Business and the Department of Theology and Religious Studies. The 2020-21 recipients are Dr. Aaron Gross, Associate Professor, Theology and Religious Studies, College of Arts and Sciences, and Dr. Yen-Ting (Daniel) Lin, Associate Professor of Operations Management and Department Chair of Operations, SCM and ITM, in the School of Business.

The Herzog Endowed Scholar Award, which recognizes the meritorious teaching and scholarly productivity of a professor in the School of Law, goes to Mary Jo Wiggins, JD.

The Class of 1975 Endowed Professorship, established by the Class of 1975 as its 25-year reunion gift to the Law School, recognizes meritorious teaching, leadership, and academic accomplishments of a professor in the School of Law. This year’s recipient is Jean Ramirez, JD.

“We can all take great pride and joy in the contributions of these nine faculty to their disciplines and to the University of San Diego, and we are delighted their outstanding achievements are being recognized with these prestigious awards,” Vice President and Provost Gail F. Baker, PhD, said.

Labor Day Monday Off, But Classes Will Meet Saturday, Sept. 12

This fall 2020 semester will have one Saturday class meeting on the schedule and it will happen next week. While all students will have Labor Day, Monday, Sept. 7 off, all classes regularly scheduled for Monday will have a make-up class meeting on Saturday, Sept. 12.

This applies to all undergraduate students who started the semester in August — it does not apply to graduate school programs that started on Sept. 2 or later. Check with your respective programs to determine if your class will meet.

— Compiled by Ryan T. Blystone

Nine USD faculty members will receive top awards for 2020-21 at the Faculty-Staff Convocation (virtually) on Friday, Sept. 11.Nine USD faculty members will receive top awards for 2020-21 at the Faculty-Staff Convocation (virtually) on Friday, Sept. 11.

Contact Information