Athletics: Football to Play Only PFL Games Sept. 26; ITA Honors Tennis Teams

Athletics: Football to Play Only PFL Games Sept. 26; ITA Honors Tennis Teams

The Pioneer Football League's Presidents’ Council has determined PFL fall schedules will not include any non-conference competition and, if conducted, a conference-only schedule will not begin before September 26, it was announced on July 27.

"There remains tremendous uncertainty as to whether the college football season can, or should, be played,” said USD Executive Director of Athletics Bill McGillis. “We will continue to monitor the landscape locally and nationally in order to determine what is in the best interests of our scholar-athletes and the USD community.”


The Council will vigilantly monitor national developments, ensuring the league's plans continue to be supported by current medical evidence and guidance. It is the Council's intent to ensure the health and welfare of student-athletes and the communities in which they live.

Here is the revised, PFL-only game schedule for Toreros football in 2020. USD is slated to play at Indiana’s Valparaiso on Sept. 26, marking the first time since 2015 that USD has opened its conference schedule on the road. The Toreros, defending PFL champions, enter this season with 14 players who received All-PFL Preseason recognition, including nine first-team selections.

Nonconference games shelved by USD in 2020 are road games Sept. 5 against UC Davis, Sept. 19 at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo and a home game Nov. 21 against Georgetown.

Women’s Tennis Wins ITA Academic Team Award for Third Straight Year; Individuals Feted

San Diego women's tennis earned the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic Team award for the third year in a row while seven Toreros earned ITA Scholar-Athlete honors for the 2019-20 academic year, the organization announced on Monday.
The program-best seven Toreros who earned Scholar-Athlete honors were Nicole AndersonSolymar CollingHelena FrancatiGemma GarciaKati KukarasDaniela Morales and Maria Tyrina.
In addition to being the team's third straight ITA All-Academic Team honor, it was the fifth such award in the Toreros' program history after earning a team GPA higher than 3.2. USD won the award in 2015 and 2016, as well as 2018, 2019 and now 2020.
Anderson, Kukaras, Morales and Tyrina all earned ITA Scholar-Athlete honors for the second or more time, respectively. For Anderson, it was her fourth such honor while it was the third straight for Morales. Kukaras and Tyrina earned the accolade in 2019.

Capping an exceptional academic year, Anderson and Kukaras were also named to the 2020 WCC All-Academic Team in early June.

To be named an ITA Scholar-Athlete, one must meet the following requirements: 1) have a GPA of at least 3.5 (on 4.0 scale) for the current academic year and 2) be listed on the institutional eligibility form.

Men’s Tennis Players Honored, Team Earns First ITA All-Academic Recognition

August HolmgrenGarrett Kurtz and Gui Osorio each earned Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Scholar-Athlete honors while the San Diego men's tennis picked up the ITA All-Academic Team honor for the first time in program history, the organization announced on Monday.
The Toreros earned their first such accolade after earning higher than a 3.2 GPA this past academic year.
Osorio picked up his third straight ITA Scholar-Athlete award after earning a 3.79 GPA over both the fall and spring semesters. A senior who will return to the Toreros in 2020-21, Osorio has garnered several awards this year, including the ITA Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award for the southwest region and WCC All-Academic Team.
Both Holmgren and Kurtz earned WCC All-Academic honorable mention honors this year.
To be named an ITA All-Academic Team, programs must meet the following requirements: 1) have a team GPA of 3.2 or above (4.0 scale); 2) all student-athletes included should be listed on the institutional eligibility form; and 3) all varsity letter-winners should be factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year.

—USD Athletics

Contact Information