USD Athletics: 2019-20 Student-Athlete Celebration of Excellence Awards

USD Athletics: 2019-20 Student-Athlete Celebration of Excellence Awards

The 2019-20 year for University of San Diego athletics was memorable for some of the usual reasons: championship successes, playoff appearances, standout individual and team efforts and great plays. But the 2019-20 season, notably the 2020 part, made it unique.

USD 2019-20 Top Athletes

When the COVID-19 pandemic forced USD officials mid-spring semester to shift to all-classes to remote learning and move all students off campus, the NCAA and WCC cancelled the season for spring sports teams and cost the women's basketball team a sure spot in a national postseason tournament.

While it is unprecedented to cancel sports seasons due to a virus -- the NCAA did rule to give eligible spring athletes their lost season back -- what isn't new is recognizing outstanding Torero student-athletes who strive to be winners on the playing field (or court, or in/on the water), winners in the classroom and winners in the community.

The Celebration of Excellence, typically an end-of-the-year evening event for USD student-athletes, announced its various individual awards for the 2019-20 season this past week on its website and social media platforms. The awards were voted on by athletics administration and nominated by head coaches.

Here are the 2019-20 USD Athletics award winners. For more information on each category winner and their accomplishments, click on the award’s hyperlink headline.

Torero Athletes of the Year 

Male: Miguel Berry, Men's Soccer

Other Nominees: Ian Converse, Cross Country; Michael Bandy, Football; Nathan Smith, Rowing; and August Holmgren, Tennis.

Female: Anna Newsome, Volleyball

Other Nominees: Myah Pace, Basketball; Hannah Rasmussen, Cross Country/Track; Kadee Sylla, Rowing; Amber Michel, Soccer; Sara Silveyra, Softball; Hannah Hudson, Swimming/Diving; Solymar Colling, Tennis.

Newcomers of the Year Award

Female: Grace Frohling, Volleyball

Other nominees: Jordyn Edwards, Basketball; Gianna Sbarbaro, Cross Country; Caitlin Burns, Rowing; Eden Quiroz, Soccer; Savannah Alcorn, Softball; Rachel Hubka, Swimming and Diving; Elizabeth Goldsmith, Tennis.

Male: Harrison Kingsley, Golf

Other nominees: Carter Rustad, Baseball; Carson Ertwine, Cross Country; Will Gleason, Rowing; Sacchitt Sharrma, Tennis.

Father Owen Mullen Service Award

Award Winners: Cammy Manes, Women's Cross Country/Track; Zach Nelson, Football

Other nominees: Natalie Copenhaver, Women's Soccer; Mina Ghazizadeh, Women's Soccer; and Roxie Wilbin, Volleyball.

Spirit of the Torero Award

Award Winners: Kathryn Brady, Women's Rowing, Kadee Sylia, Women's Rowing

Other nominees: August Holmgren, Men's Tennis; Nigel Ward, Baseball.

Highest GPA Award

Senior Class: Clare Adams, Women's Rowing, 3.98 GPA

Junior Class: Jessica Ong, Women's Cross Country/Track, 4.00 GPA

Sophomore Class: Remington Hirano, Golf, 4.00 GPA.

USD Athletics

Keep up with all USD Athletics news, scores and information on its website. Follow the Toreros on social media: FacebookTwitter and Instagram.


Contact Information