CEE Innovation in Experiential Education Award

air bubbles with logo innovation in experiential education award

Award Rationale and Purpose

The Center for Educational Excellence is proud to sponsor the Innovation in Experiential Education (IEE) Award to signify our commitment to facilitating student-centered experiential learning, including but not limited to service learning, internships, classroom simulations, and research. Such activities require great faculty dedication. To encourage, celebrate, and disseminate best practices in the development and implementation of experiential learning, the CEE will annually bestow the Innovation in Experiential Education Award, which includes a $500 cash award, to a faculty innovator. The awardee will be announced at the CEE Recognition Reception, and receive their stipend and an award certificate at a luncheon/dinner presentation to be scheduled for Fall of the corresponding year.

Eligibility Requirements

All full-time and benefit based USD faculty members are eligible. The award will be given for innovative and successful experiential activities conducted in a course for at least two semesters during the last two academic years.

Application Process

Faculty should submit nominations (or self-nominations) to the CEE(cee@sandiego.edu). Please include the faculty member's name and course in the nomination email. Nominees will be notified and encouraged to apply.

All materials in support of a faculty member’s nomination must be submitted by the deadline to be considered for the award.

Nominees are required to submit the following materials:

  1. A one-page summary that includes the faculty member’s name, title, school or department, and a listing of courses for which the faculty member has developed experiential activities. For each course list its number, title, and semesters taught, followed by a brief description of the experiential activities used in the course.
  2. A letter, not to exceed three single-spaced pages, which describes the faculty member’s experiential education activities:
    • Describe the experiential activity and its educational objectives.
    • Discuss how these objectives had been accomplished prior to implementing the activity.
    • Discuss student reception of the experiential activity.
    • Evaluate the success of the experiential activity and discuss whether the educational objectives were achieved; cite evidence of success, such as pre-and post-test scores, student evaluations about the experiential activity itself, reflection papers, or other concrete measure of the impact of the innovation. These measures need to be linked to the experiential activity and not the course.
    • Discuss the activity's benefits and limitations with specific attention to how you would modify the activity in the future (e.g., what you learned or how this will inform your future efforts).
    • Discuss whether the innovation lends itself to a conference presentation or journal publication
  3. Relevant course syllabi (a maximum of two) and supporting materials, such as class handouts.

Selection Process

  • The selection committee composed of previous recipients of the award will make the selection.
  • Nominations will be assessed based on the committee’s scoring rubric, to be completed by all committee members participating in the selection of the award recipient.
  • The award is based on originality and impact on students, courses/programs, and community. In order to receive the award, a nominee must receive an average rubric score of 10 points or better. If no nominee receives this score, then no award will be given that year. Assuming more than one nominee receives this score, the nominee with the highest average rubric score will receive the award.
  • Questions about eligibility, the application process, or the selection process, should be directed to cee@sandiego.edu, or x7402.

Previous Award Recipients

2017-2018 Academic Year

2015-2016 Academic Year

  • Mike Lawless, PhD - Clinical Professor of Management, Academic Director of Entrepreneurship Initiatives

2014-2015 Academic Year

2013-2014 Academic Year

2012-2013 Academic Year

1996-2012 Award Recipients

2011-2012   Dr. Jonathan Bowman, Communication Studies

2010-2011   Dr. Michelle Camacho, Sociology

2009-2010   Dr. Stephen Conroy, Economics

2008-2009   Evelyn Diaz Cruz, MFA, Theater Arts

2007-2008   Dr. Kevin Guerrieri, Spanish

2006-2007   Dr. Leeva Chung, Communication Studies

2005-2006   Dr. Peter Kanelos, English

2004-2005   Dr. Lonnie Rowell, School Counseling



2003-2004   Dr. Susan Lord, Engineering

2002-2003   Dr. Barbara Withers, Management

2001-2002   Dr. Perla Myers, Mathematics

1999-2000   Dr. Luby LiaoMathematics

1998-1999   Dr. Sandra Sgoutas-Emch, Psychology

1997-1998   Dr. Judith LiuSociology

1996-1997   Dr. Noelle Norton, Political Science

1995-1996   Dr. Michael Pfau, Political Science