Cropper Undergraduate Creative Writing Contest in Poetry, Fiction and Nonfiction

The University of San Diego awards three prizes each year in honor of Lindsay J. Cropper. The $125 cash prizes recognize undergraduate achievement in the genres of poetry, fiction and nonfiction. Submissions accepted in the Fall semester.

The 2019-2020 Lindsay J. Cropper Creative Writing Contest has concluded.  Full contest guidelines and submissions are through the Cropper Contest web site: Judges to be announced. 

Look back to this page in Fall 2020 regarding updates for the 2020-2021 Contest.

We welcome submissions from all undergraduates, and students do not have to be completing the creative writing emphasis in order to be eligible (nor do they have to be English majors)! Students may submit in more than one genre, though a student can only win in one genre. A prize of $125 will be awarded in each of the three categories, and winners and an honorable mention for each category will be published in the Fall issue of The Alcalá Review.

Winners will be announced at the Graduating Creative Writing Emphasis Student Reading to be held on April 30, 2020, 12:30-2:00 p.m. in Mother Rosalie Hill Hall, Room 102. Dessert reception. Free and open to the public. Friends and family welcome! 

If you have questions about the contest, please email Professor Brad Melekian at, or Professor Malachi Black at, or Professor Halina Duraj at   

Cropper Writing Contest image - flier with too small, far too indiscernible text.

Brad Melekian, MFA
Assistant Professor, English Department
Director, Cropper Center for Creative Writing

Phone: (619) 260-7856

Malachi Black, PhD
Assistant Professor, English Department
Phone: (619) 260-4696

Halina Duraj, PhD
Associate Professor, English Department
Phone: (619) 260-7429


  • Poetry Winner: Marisa Hanson
  • Fiction Winner: Leilee Ghassemi
  • Nonfiction Winner: Marisa Hanson
  • Poetry Runner-up: McKenna Christian
  • Fiction Runner-up: Hayden Witt
  • Nonfiction Runner-up: Jake Sanborn

Congrats! The winners will have their entries published in the Fall 2019 issue of the Alcala Review.


  • Poetry Winner: Larissa Rogers
  • Fiction Winner: Maddison Nelson
  • Nonfiction Winner: Grace McDonald
  • Poetry Runner-up: Joe Duffy
  • Fiction Runner-up: Samantha Strauss
  • Nonfiction Runner-up: Ben Friedl

Congrats! The winners had their entries published in the Fall 2018 issue of the Alcala Review.


  • Poetry Winner: Ryan Samson
  • Fiction Winner: Rachel Truong
  • Nonfiction Winner: Charles Madruga
  • Poetry Runner-up: Larissa Rogers
  • Fiction Runner-up: James Cho
  • Nonfiction Runner-up: James Cho

Congrats! The winners had their entries published in the Fall 2017 issue of the Alcala Review.


  • Poetry Winner: Magenta Reynolds
  • Fiction Winner: Miles Parnegg
  • Nonfiction Winner: Sean Ouye
  • Poetry Runner-up: Brad David
  • Fiction Runner-up: Jessika Malone
  • Nonfiction Runner-up: Eric Draft

Congrats to all! The winners had their entries published in the Fall 2016 issue of the Alcala Review


  • Poetry Co-Winners: Gabriella Sghia-Hughes & Lucia T. Pasquale
  • Fiction Winner: Joie Coxon
  • Nonfiction Winner: Megan Huynh
  • Fiction Runner-up: Dylan Macdonald
  • Nonfiction Runner-up: Matthew Hose

The winners had their entries published in the inaugrual issue of the Alcala Review, Fall 2015.










There are currently no workshops offered. Please check back periodically.