Bookmark and Share

Department of

Biology

Adjunct Faculty

Separator

No photo available

Nancy Amundson, PhD

Adjunct Professor
namundson@sandiego.edu
619-260-4729

No photo available

Hedieh Badie, PhD

Adjunct Professor
hbadie@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4729

Kate Boersma

Kate Boersma, PhD

Postdoctoral Research Associate
kateboersma@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-2191

Office: SCST 347

Kate Boersma, PhD, is a postdoctoral researcher in the Biology Department working with Dr. Adam Siepielski. She uses macroinvertebrate communities in fragmented aquatic habitats of the American West as a model system to explore the ecological and evolutionary drivers of observed species distributions. Topics of special interest include mechanisms promoting coexistence in closely-related taxa, resistance and resilience of communities following perturbations, and evolutionary adaptations of aquatic taxa to extreme droughts.

people.oregonstate.edu/~boersmak/

> More Information

No photo available

Kevin Curran, PhD

Adjunct Professor
kcurran@sandiego.edu
619-260-4729

Kevin Curran, PhD, began teaching at the USD Biology Department in 2014. He teaches courses in Cell Biology for majors and Plants and Society for non-majors. Kevin earned his doctorate in developmental biology at the University of Washington in Seattle. His dissertation elucidated the genetic machinery that governs stem cell fate in the zebrafish neural crest. Kevin’s post-doctoral work at the Salk Institute focused on C. elegans behavioral neuroscience, exploring the role of serotonin in predator avoidance behavior. His current research interests are focused on neuroscience and the manner medicinal plants are used to address specific health issues.

His work analyzing clinical results from medicinal plant studies can be seen at ethnoherbalist.com, this site explores which herbal supplements are effective and which are fraudulent.

http://www.ethnoherbalist.com/

> More Information

Marcelle Darby

Marcelle Darby

Adjunct Professor
mdarby@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4074

Office: Shiley Science and Technology 433

No photo available

Meg Eckles, PhD

Adjunct Professor
meckles@sandiego.edu
619-260-4729

No photo available

Jonathan Gilkerson, PhD

Adjunct Professor
jgilkerson@sandiego.edu
619-260-4729

No photo available

Benjamin Grupe, PhD

Adjunct Professor
bgrupe@sandiego.edu
619-260-4729

Paul Kemp

Paul Kemp, PhD

Adjunct Professor
pkemp@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4074

Office: SCST 433

Paul Kemp, PhD, began teaching in the Biology Department in 1997. He teaches introductory classes in biology for both biology majors and non-science majors, as well as upper division classes in Conservation Biology, Ecology, and Global Change Ecology. His research interests include studies of nutrient cycling in forest, grassland, and desert ecosystems, and plant population dynamics in response to natural and human-caused climate change.

 

Home Page

> More Information

No photo available

Robert Lauri, PhD

Adjunct Professor
laurir@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4729

Keith Macdonald

Keith Macdonald

Adjunct Professor
keithm@sandiego.edu
619-260-4211

Office: Shiley Science and Technology 366

No photo available

Deanna Meier

Adjunct Professor
deannameier@sandiego.edu
619-260-4729

No photo available

Steven Morrison, PhD

Adjunct Professor
morrison@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4729

Office: Shiley Science and Technology 472

No photo available

Andrew Nosal, PhD

Adjunct Professor
anosal@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4729

No photo available

Jenna Prada, PhD

Adjunct Professor
jennaprada@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4074

Office: Shiley Science and Technology 367

No photo available

Carl Procko, PhD

Adjunct Professor
cprocko@sandiego.edu
619-260-4729

Laura Rivard

Laura Rivard, PhD

Adjunct Professor
lrivard@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4074

Office: SCST 433

No photo available

Martha Stauderman, PhD

Adjunct Professor
mstauderman@sandiego.edu
619-260-4729

No photo available

Justin Strauss, PhD

Adjunct Professor
jstrauss@sandiego.edu
619-260-4729

Rou-Jia Sung

Rou-Jia Sung, PhD

Adjunct Professor
rjsung@sandiego.edu
619-260-4729

No photo available

Elizabeth Tanner, PhD

Adjunct Professor
tanner@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4729

No photo available

Joanna Thomas, PhD

Adjunct Professor
jo_thomas@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4729

No photo available

Krystal Tronboll, PhD

Adjunct Professor
ktronboll@sandiego.edu
(619) 260-4729

Judith Williams

Judith Williams, PhD

Research Associate Professor
Adjunct Professor, Biology
judydrj@sandiego.edu
619-260-4729

Dr. Williams joined the Faculty as a part time Instructor in the Fall of 2014. She teaches an Introductory Biology course, Biology 101 for non-majors, and Biology 190 Introduction to Evolution, which is the first Biology course in the Core sequence for Biology Majors. She brings years of experience, research and teaching to her classroom.

> More Information