Honors Convocation Recognizes 2017-18's Top Undergrad Students


Honors Convocation Recognizes 2017-18's Top Undergrad Students

Outstanding University of San Diego students, mostly from its Class of 2018, received hearty praise, gifts, certificates, scrolls and plaques at the annual Undergraduate Honors Convocation Tuesday inside Shiley Theatre.

2018 Honors Convocation

One by one as they walked across the stage, this ceremony, which celebrates the academic accomplishments for the 2017-18 year, recognized students who've received a 4.0 GPA (Freshmen, Sophomores, Juniors and Seniors), those graduating from the Honors Program, entering honor societies, receiving individual department awards in the College of Arts and Sciences, School of Business, Shiley-Marcos School of Engineering and the School of Leadership and Education Sciences and more.

Special awards announced included Margaret Driscoll receiving the Honors Program's Anne Catherine Swanke Award; Shelby Booker receiving the Chet Pagni Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service; Luke Garrett receiving the St. Catherine Medal; University Ministry Student Servant Leader Awards for Alexandra Annen, Lindsay Fitzpatrick, Erin Gosen, Nicholas Hatton, Miranda Rappoldt, Clarissa Reyes and Mark Sasaki; the Student Employee of the Year Award went to Karen Ovadia (Mulvaney Center for Community Awreness and Social Action), and Devon Savage earning a Fulbright Scholarship.

Student Affairs' Special Awards went to: Jhonnatan Chinchilla and Caitlin Teno, Dr. Thomas J. Cosgrove Award for Outstanding Service in Student Government; Kelsie Currie and Madison Ryan, Outstanding Service in Official University-Sponsored Activity; Sarah Ellias and Debby Romero, Outstanding Contribution to the Entire Campus through Involvement; Mariha Akbar and Alessandra Cole, Outstanding Contribution to Multicultural Awareness and Understanding; and Breana Michelle Lewis and Alyssa Zoppi, Outstanding Contribution to Residential Life.

There were also four special awards for undergraduate USD faculty members for excellence in teaching, in research and service: Communication Studies Professor Susannah Stern, PhD, received the Glenn D. White Jr. '78 Research Award; Psychological Sciences Assistant Professor Divya Sitaraman, PhD, was selected as the Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor; Associate Professor of Environmental and Ocean Sciences Michel Boudrias, PhD, was named the Patrick F. Drinan Award winner for Distinguished Service; and Department Chair and Associate Professor of Political Science and International Relations, Emily Edmonds-Poli, is the newest recipient of the Davies Award for Teaching Excellence.

— USD News Center

Honors Convocation 2018

Post Contact

USD News Center
(619) 260-4681

Contact Information