USD President Mary Lyons was elected chair of the board of the Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities this spring. Lyons attended Pope Benedict XVI’s address at the Catholic University of America in Washington, D.C., in April; there the pontiff spoke about the important role of Catholic education to more than 400 university presidents and diocesan education leaders from around the country.

The School of Business Administration has named David F. Pyke incoming dean, effective Aug. 1, 2008. Currently the associate dean of the MBA Program at the Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth College, Pyke has helped to develop Tuck into one of the nation’s top business schools. USD’s undergraduate business program, for the second straight year, is ranked by BusinessWeek as one of the top 50 programs in the nation.

USD’s Chemistry and Biochemistry Department has been awarded more than $2 million from the National Science Foundation and other private foundations. Assistant Professor of Chemistry Peter Iovine received the prestigious $475,000 CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation. Associate Professor of Chemistry David De Haan received a major research grant of $310,000 from the NSF, funded through the Research in Undergraduate Institutions Faculty Research Projects program and NSF’s Directorate of Geosciences. The Chemistry and Biochemistry Department was also awarded a $500,000 Department Development Award from the Tucson, Ariz.-based Research Corp. that will be matched by funds from USD for a $1 million-plus investment in science. Finally, the department received nearly $600,000 from the Henry Luce Foundation to establish the Clare Booth Luce Professorship in chemistry and biochemistry.

The 35th annual San Diego Crew Classic in Mission Bay was a “home” event for USD men’s and women’s rowing teams, but it was also the site of a special shell dedication. The “Karen L. Cosgrove” shell was named for the late wife of Tom Cosgrove, associate vice president of student life. Tom Cosgrove started USD’s crew program 30 years ago in 1978. The new shell was christened and is being used by the men’s program.

Quarterback Josh Johnson was selected in the fifth round by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in the National Football League draft on April 27. Johnson, who threw 43 touchdown passes and only one interception in 2007, was the 160th overall player selected. The record-setting senior posted a 30-4 mark in three years as the starting quarterback. He leaves as USD’s all-time passing leader for most touchdown passes (113), completions (724), attempts (1,065) and passing yards (9,699).

Three more USD senior standout football players, defensive end Eric Bakhtiari, wide receiver Wes Doyle and linebacker Ronnie Pentz, were signed to NFL free-agent contracts shortly after the draft concluded. Bakhtiari signed with the San Diego Chargers, Doyle with Tampa Bay and Pentz with the Oakland Raiders.

The Office of Alumni Relations is seeking nominations for the Mother Rosalie Clifton Hill Award, which recognizes outstanding service to the USD community, and the Bishop Charles Francis Buddy Award, which is bestowed for outstanding service for humanitarian causes. Go to or call (619) 260-4819.

Find current stories about student achievements, faculty research and special events at Inside USD, a new Web site developed by the Office of Public Affairs. From academics to athletics, peacebuilding to sustainability, up-to-date campus news is at