Honors Convocation: Celebration Kickoff for Class of 2017

Honors Convocation: Celebration Kickoff for Class of 2017

The season of awards ceremonies at the University of San Diego, honoring excellence among the Class of 2017 began in earnest on Tuesday, May 2, inside Shiley Theatre.

Honors Convocation 2017

The annual Undergraduate Honors Convocation is the first full-on platform in May to celebrate all graduating undergrads in the College of Arts and Sciences, School of Business, Shiley-Marcos School of Engineering and in undergraduate minor programs within the School of Leadership and Education Sciences.

Students were honored with departmental awards for outstanding work in their respective disciplines. Numerous university special awards were also presented to students within such areas as the Honors Program, Student Affairs, University Ministry and there was recognition for those who’ve been elected into Phi Beta Kappa and several more honor societies, for participation in on-campus organizations and to celebrate those who’ve received a national scholarship award.

Among the special university award honorees were Emma Doolittle and Dante Enriquez, winners of the Honors Program's Anne Catherine Swanke Award; Cristina Ramos was named the USD Student Employee of the Year; Molly Humphreys, Brenna Wertzberger, Tanya Ibrahim and Jack Turney earning University Ministry Student Servant Leader Awards; Nicole Abraham and Jordyn Corrington were selected as the Dr. Thomas J. Cosgrove Award winners for Outstanding Service in Student Government; Erin McDonald and Christina Rontell won the Outstanding Service in Official University Activities; Jane Henderson and Benjamin Joyce were feted for Outstanding Contribution to the Entire Campus through Involvement; Chelsea McLin and Lina Wallace, Outstanding Contribution to Multicultural Awareness and Understanding; Emma Doolittle and Stephen Pollmann, Outstanding Contributions to Residential Life; Jessica Pettenuzzo is this year's recipient of the Chet Pagni Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service; and Miranda Rappoldt won the St. Catherine Medal.

National Scholarship Award recognition was bestowed onto Wayne Cottle and Halie Sonnenschein for winning Goldwater Scholarships, while Shea Ricketts, Harrison Schmachtenberger and Sirena Tran were Goldwater Scholarship honorable mention. Three Fulbright Scholarship winners were James Bennett, Katherine Quinn and Jake Zawlacki. Jane Henderson received a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship.

Academic Achievement awards for students with a 4.0 grade-point average were recognized. Eighteen first-year students had a 4.0 GPA, 12 students have maintained a 4.0 with 30-plus units complete, seven students with 60-plus units completed have a 4.0 and there are six who've got the top GPA after 90-plus units. Among the latter group is College of Arts and Sciences' Emma Doolittle who, along with Rachel Lloyd in Engineering and Keely Palla in Business, comprise the group of Class of 2017 Valedictorians.

There were also awards to recognize outstanding work by USD faculty members.

Assistant Professor of Environmental and Ocean Sciences Jennifer Prairie and Chemistry and Biochemistry Associate Chair and Professor Joseph Provost were named Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentors; Mathematics Professor Lukasz Pruski received the Patrick F. Drinan Award for Distinguished Service; and Chair and Associate Professor of Psychological Sciences Jennifer Zwolinski received the Davies Award for Teaching Excellence.

Contact Information

United Front Multicultural Commons
Student Life Pavilion 418
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110

Phone: (619) 260-2395

Click to see map to Student Life Pavilion 418
Building Location on Campus Map

View Map and Building Location