Other On-Campus Opportunities

Many organizations on-campus offer students the opportunity to engage in research activities in addition to the programs supported by the Office of Undergraduate Research.

The Alice B. Hayes Science Scholarships/Fellowships

The Alice B. Hayes Science Scholarship was established in support of students who display merit and majoring in Biology, Chemistry or Biochemistry, Marine Science, Environmental Studies, or Physics. The one-time scholarship may be used to support academic year or summer research up to $5,000, and is open to sophomores and juniors. Applications must be submitted via email by December 12, 2014 to Dr. Michael Mayer at For more information on the grant, please visit website for more information.

Changemaker Summer Fellows Program

Students who have a passion for change are encouraged to apply for the Changemaker Summer Fellows program. The program offers $2,000 for students to explore who they are as Changemakers and to develop their skills in framing social issues and creating innovative approaches to addressing them. This program is open to all undergraduates who will be returning to USD the following year.

Honors Program

Freshman and transfer students who meet certain academic requirements are encouraged to apply for USD's Honors Program. This program offers a four-year interdisciplinary curriculum that this integrated with a student's major. Near the end of the program, honors students have the opportunity to conduct independent scholarly research in their major field of study.

Postings by USD Faculty

Students can search for research opportunities posted by USD faculty and other members of the research community on the How to Get Started on Research page on the Office of Undergraduate Research website. Opportunities are updated regularly.

Contact Information

Office of Undergraduate Research
Maher Hall 280
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110

Phone: (619) 260-7840
Fax: (619) 849-8390

Office Hours

Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Closed for Lunch 11:30-12:30 p.m.