Office of Undergraduate Research

Drop Shadow

Beckman Scholars Program

The University of San Diego and the Office of Undergraduate Research are proud to announce that we received a three-year Arnold & Mabel Beckman Foundation Scholars Program Award starting in summer 2014. The Beckman award will allow five USD students to receive a generous Scholar award to conduct independent research for summer year one, intervening academic year and summer year two. Two Beckman Scholars will be selected in 2014, two new scholars will be selected in 2015 and a final scholar will be selected in 2016.

These awards are made to outstanding students who have a strong commitment to research.

Competition for this award is open to*:

  • USD sophomores and juniors and/or students that will be able to complete the scholarship “term.” Seniors can be funded the summer after their graduation if they have not yet completed their two summers and one academic year as a scholar
  • US Citizens or Permanent Residents
  • Students majoring in Biology, Biochemistry, Biophysics or Chemistry
  • Overall GPA of 3.5 or above
  • Currently in or interested in conducting research with a Beckman faculty member

Each student named as a Beckman Scholar must commit to conducting research for 40 hours/week for 10 weeks over the course of two summers and 10 hours/week during the intervening year.

The Beckman Scholar Award consists of a stipend and a travel and supplies allowance. The award also includes a trip to the Beckman Scholars Annual Research Symposium, held each summer in Irvine, CA, where each student will present his or her research to a group of Beckman scholars, mentors, scientists, and administrators.

The deadline to submit your application materials is Thursday March 13, 2014 at noon.

*This program is invitation-only, however, if you have any questions or consider yourself eligible for this program, please contact the Office of Undergraduate Research.

^Participating Beckman faculty members include:

Rae Anderson (Department of Physics)

Lauren Benz (Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry)

Tim Clark (Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry)

David De Haan (Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry)

Peter Iovine (Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry)

Geoffrey Morse (Department of Biology)

Joseph Provost (Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry)

Adam Siepielski (Department of Biology)