Julius Espiritu

MA Marital and Family Therapy

What is your background? For example, where are you from, where else have you earned a degree, and where have you worked?

I grew up in San Jose, CA and lived there until I attended the University of California, San Diego for undergrad.  I earned my BA in Psychology and I worked as a research assistant at a cognitive psychology lab and as a teaching assistant for introductory statistics. After graduating, I took a couple years to gain work experience and figure out what career I wanted to pursue.

When did you begin your program, and when do you anticipate completing it?

I began the program in the Fall of 2015 and I anticipate completing the program in either the Spring or Summer of 2017.

What do you hope to do with your degree and/or credential, and why?

At this point in my career, I hope to work with children and adolescents, although I am trying to keep an open mind and experience as much as I can.

Are you currently working? If so, do you work full-time, part time, and what do you do?

I work part time as an educational coach at a private practice. This job has exposed me to how marriage and family therapists work in private practice. It is the reason that I decided to pursue the MA in Marital and Family degree. 

Which class has impacted you the most? Why?

So far, the class that has impacted me the most is developmental psychopathology. It has given me great insight into how mental illness may present in children and adolescents. In addition, the activities in the class allowed me to explore my own background and childhood.