Christine Capuano

MA Counseling, specialization in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

What do you hope to do with your degree and/or credential, and why?

I am predominantly interested in spending some time working internationally after graduation, if possible. I am also interested in working in a forensic setting.

When did you begin your program, and when do you anticipate completing it?

I started my program in the Fall of 2014 and am expected to graduate in the Spring of 2017.

How did you hear about SOLES, and why did you choose to enroll?

I initially was considering a career in the medical field after scribing at an urgent care for a few years, and started looking into USD's physician assistant program. After some time, I found that mental health patients always seemed to pique my interest, and subsequently found the CMHC program. I knew instantly that it was the ideal program for my interests and abilities.

What is your background? For example, where are you from, where else have you earned a degree, and where have you worked?

I was born and raised in Orange County, CA. I attended Chapman University as an undergraduate and earned my BA in Psychology with a minor in communication studies. My senior year at Chapman I interned as a scribe at an urgent care. I was hired on and continued to work there for a few years after graduation. I considered making a career switch to the medical field, but couldn't quite shake my passion for mental health, so I continued to pursue a career in clinical mental health counseling.

Are you currently working? If so, do you work full-time or part-time, and what do you do?

I am currently working as a part- time as a counselor at a residential treatment center for women with eating disorders.

Tell us about any research or independent study you have done at SOLES.

I am currently working on a research project with Dr. Johnson and a few other members of my cohort on juvenile fire setters and bomb makers. 

Have you completed an international experience? What did you do?

I have not yet completed an international experience, but will likely be venturing to Bali and Australia this summer!