Cropper Creative Writing Contest Winners Announced


Cropper Creative Writing Contest Winners Announced

The Cropper Center for Creative Writing announced the winners of the 2013-2014 Cropper Creative Writing Contest.  The announcement was made at the Lindsay J. Cropper Memorial Writers Series featuring poets Esther Lee and Gary Jackson on Friday, February 21, 2014.  The winners, one each in the genres of poetry and prose, are: 

  • Amber McMains, Poetry Winner
  • Emma Uriarte, Prose Winner

Congratulations, Amber and Emma!  Amber and Emma each won $125 for their prize. The contest entries were judged by Esther Lee, Poet, and David Philip Mullins, Prose Writer.

The runners-up were also announced.  They are Vincent Cabral, Poetry Runner-up, and Breana Burgos, Prose Runner-up.

Congratulations to our winners and runners-up, and a big thank you to all the students who entered!

Sponsored by the Cropper Center for Creative Writing.


Amber McMains, Poetry winner

Contact Information

James T. Harris III, DEd
Office of the President

Hughes Center 222
5998 Alcalá Park
San Diego, CA 92110

Phone: (619) 260-4520
Fax: (619) 260-6833

Office Hours

8 a.m. - 5 p.m.