Contact:

Trans-Border Institute

transborder@sandiego.edu
Phone: (619) 260-7919
Fax: (619) 849-8123

Location: KIPJ Room 238
Joan B. Kroc School of Peace Studies
5998 Alcala Park
San Diego, CA 92110

Facebook iTunesU YouTube Twitter

Trans-Border Institute

Alphabetical List of Border Specialists

The following border specialists are or have been associated with the Trans-Border Institute or the University of San Diego.  Their names and contact are followed by their area of specialty.

If you wish to add your name or remove it from this list please contact: transborder@sandiego.edu.

Dee Aker
Joan B. Kroc Institute for Peace & Justice
(619) 260-2358
daker@sandiego.edu
Human Rights and Gender

Viviana Alexandrowicz
School of Leadership and Education Studies
Learning and Teaching
(619) 260-4121
vivianaa@sandiego.edu
Education and Community Development
(Bilingual Education)

Maria Pilar Aquino Vargas
College of Arts and Sciences
Theology and Religious Studies
(619) 260-4280
aquino@sandiego.edu
Religion and Spirituality
(US Latina and Latin American feminist liberation theologies, Latino Catholicism)
Christianity and Ethics in the Contemporary World, Global Studies and Feminist Movements, Feminist Intercultural Theology and Liberation Theologies, Women, Religion and Human rights, Religion, Culture, and Globalization, Peacemaking, Religion, and Reconciliation

James P. Bolender
College of Arts and Sciences
Chemistry and Biochemistry
(619) 260-4792
bolender@sandiego.edu
Science and Environment
(Pollution and fish in Baja California Sur)

Michel Boudrias
College of Arts and Sciences
Chemistry and Biochemistry
(619) 260-4794
boum@sandiego.edu
Science and Environment

Michelle Madsen Camacho Walter
College of Arts and Sciences
Sociology
(619) 260-7826
mcamacho@sandiego.edu
http://home.sandiego.edu/~mcamacho/
Education and Community Development
Economic development and globalization in rural Mexico (Oaxaca), Public health relating to immigrant women from Mexico and Central America

Leeva Chung
College of Arts and Sciences
Communications
(619) 260-5966
leeva@sandiego.edu
Latinos and Latino Experience

Paula Cordeiro
School of Leadership and Education Sciences
(619) 260-4540
cordeiro@sandiego.edu
Education and Community Development
School leadership of college faculty teaching and binational nonprofit organizations focusing on education and community development

Alana Cordy-Collins
College of Arts and Sciences
Anthropology
(619) 260-4725 
alanacc@SanDiego.edu
http://home.sandiego.edu/~alanacc/
Indigenous Communities
(Peruvian prehistory)

Evelyn Diaz Cruz
College of Arts and Sciences
Theatre Arts
(619) 260-7877
diazcruz@sandiego.edu
http://home.sandiego.edu/~diazcruz/
Arts and Culture
Chicana/o theatre. Latino/a playwriting, Theatre of Diversity

Esteban del Rio
College of Arts and Sciences
Communications
(619) 260-7464
edelrio@sandiego.edu
Latinos and Latino Experience & Arts and Culture
(Latino/a unity and difference in popular and informational media)

Denise Dimon
School of Business
International Business
(619) 260-4836
dimon@sandiego.edu
Economic Development
(President of the Business Associate of Latin American Studies, LA business environment)

Emily Edmonds-Poli
College of Arts and Sciences
Political Science and International Relations
(619) 260-7802
Edmonds@sandiego.edu
http://home.sandiego.edu/~edmonds/
Politics and Policy
(Subnational politics in Mexico, Decentralization and Democratization in Latin America) 

Kimberly Eherenman
College of Arts and Sciences
Languages and Literature
(619) 260-4068
kime@sandiego.edu
Arts and Culture & Languages and Literature
(Mexican Literature and Culture, Latin American Poetry) 

Iris Engstrand
College of Arts and Sciences
History
(619) 260-4038
iris@sandiego.edu
History
History of Mexico 

Orlando O. Espín
College of Arts and Sciences
Theology and Religious Studies
(619) 260-4049
espin@sandiego.edu
Religion and Spirituality
Popular Catholicism in the borderlands
(U.S. Latino/a theologies and U.S. Latino/a Catholicism, Intercultural theology) 

Ralph H. Folsom
School of Law
Administration
(619) 260-2325
rfolsom@sandiego.edu
Economic Development
(NAFTA in the Americas) 

Michael Gonzalez
College of Arts and Sciences
History 
(619) 260-4043
michaelg@sandiego.edu
(Chicano history, History of Mexican culture on LA) 

Kenneth González
School of Leadership and Education Sciences (SOLES) 
Counseling
(619) 260-7546
kennethg@sandiego.edu
Latinos and Latino Experience
Latinas/os in education, specifically access to college and doctoral student socialization 

Gary Gray
College of Arts and Sciences
Political Science and International Relations
(619) 260-2653
ggray@sandiego.edu
Politics and Policy 

Kevin Guerrieri
College of Arts and Sciences
Languages and Literature
(619) 260-7827
Kevin2@sandiego.edu
Languages and Literature
Colombian narrative, Scholarship of Engagement, and Literature and culture in the Tijuana-San Diego Borderlands 

Jim Hardison
College of Arts and Sciences
Languages and Literature
(619) 260-7668
hardison@sandiego.edu
Languages and Literature
(Spanish language) 

David Herrera
School of Leadership and Education Sciences
davidherrera@sandiego.edu
Immigration and Migrant Labor 

Anita Hunter
School of Nursing
(619) 260-7609
ahunter@sandiego.edu
Health and Quality of Life 

Virginia Lewis
College of Arts and Sciences
Political Science
(619) 260-4631
vlewis@sandiego.edu
http://home.sandiego.edu/~vlewis/
Human Rights 

Duncan McCosker
College of Arts and Sciences
Fine Arts
(619) 260-4108
mccosker@sandiego.edu
http://home.sandiego.edu/~mccosker/
Arts and Culture
(Border Photography) 

José Mendoza
College of Arts and Sciences
Languages and Literature
(619) 260-2983
jmendoza@sandiego.edu
Languages and Literature
(Indigenous Literature of Mexico) 

Alejandro Meter
College of Arts and Sciences
Languages and Literature
(619) 260-7417
ameter@sandiego.edu
Languages and Literature & Arts and Culture
Migration and exile, Jewish studies in Latin America 

Thomas Minnich
School of Business
Marketing
(619) 260-7457
tminnich@sandiego.edu
Economic Development
(Trained marketing and communications professionals in South America and Mexico) 

Kristin Moran
College of Arts and Sciences
Communications
(619) 260-4085
kmoran@sandiego.edu
Arts and Culture
Mass media in Mexico, Latino experience with mass media in the U.S. 

Dan Moriarty
College of Arts and Sciences
Psychology
(619) 260-4004
moriarty@sandiego.edu
http://home.sandiego.edu/~moriarty/
Science and Environment
Mexican Wolf Species Survival Program (Bi-national effort to restore viable wolf populations in Mexico and the US) 

Peter Nuñez 
College of Arts and Sciences
Political Science
(619) 260-8798
pnunez@sandiego.edu
Immigration and Migrant Labor & Law and Security 

Alma Ortega
Copley Library
(619) 260-2259
alma@sandiego.edu
Arts and Culture & Latinos and Latino Experience
Chicano/Latino Studies 

Gail Perez
College of Arts and Sciences
English
(619) 260-4115
gperez@sandiego.edu
Arts and Culture, Immigration and Migrant Labor & Languages and Literature
Chicano/Chicana studies

Michael R. Pfau
College of Arts and Sciences
Political Science and International Relations
(619) 260 -4011
pfau@sandiego.edu
http://www.sandiego.edu/~pfau/ 
Politics and Policy & Economic Development
(Cross-border perceptions in the NAFTA countries) 

Alberto Pulido
College of Arts and Sciences
Ethnic Studies
(619) 260-4022
apulido@sandiego.edu
Latinos and Latino Experience
(Social Justice, Chicano/a Race and Ethnic Relations, Mexican Literature, Latino Catholicism) 

Barbara Quinn
College of Arts and Sciences
Center Christian Spirituality
(619) 260-4785
bquinn@sandiego.edu
Religion and Spirituality
Immigration and Catholic Social Thought, Border Immersion 

Daniel Rivetti 
School of Business
Finance
(619) 260-4844
drivetti@sandiego.edu
Economic Development
Directed Funding activities for private investment along the U.S-Mexico border, aircraft industry in Latin America

Octavio Rodriguez 
Trans-Border Institute 
(619) 994-3458
orodriguez@sandiego.edu
Mexican Public Law, International Law, Human Rights.

Jamie Romo
School of Leadership and Education Sciences (SOLES) 
Learning and Teaching
(619) 260-7817
jromo@sandiego.edu
http://home.sandiego.edu/~jromo/
Education and Development & Latinos and Latino Experience
Teacher preparation, assessment, and effectiveness in the San Diego-Tijuana border region, border pedagogy (developing a pedagogy for global-local schools), collaboration among educators and action research in the San Diego-Tijuana border region 

Olivia Ruiz
College of Arts and Sciences
Ethnic Studies
ruizo@sandiego.edu
Immigration and Migrant Labor & Latinos and Latino Experience
(Border Issues - race, gender, class, migration and risk) 

Nancy Sabin
School of Nursing
(619) 260-7996
njex@sandiego.edu
Health and Quality of Life
(Latino Health Care)
Health beliefs, access issues, and general health considerations, specifically in context to human trafficking from Mexico, HIV on both sides of the border, legal issues of undocumented women in abusive situations, and TB 

Kenneth Serbin
College of Arts and Sciences
History
(619) 260-4037
kserbin@sandiego.edu
http://www.home.earthlink.net/~kserbin/
History
(Modern Latin America, Brazil, Mexico, Chile, and Argentina) 

David A Shirk
College of Arts and Sciences
Political Science
(619) 260-2315
dshirk@sandiego.edu 
Law and Security & Politics and Policy 

Jorge A Vargas
School of Law
(619) 260-4816
mexlaw@sandiego.edu
Mexican Law & Human Rights & Immigration and Migrant Labor & Law and Security & Latinos and Latino Experience 

James Weyant
College of Arts and Sciences
Psychology
(619) 260 - 4007
jweyant@sandiego.edu
http://home.sandiego.edu/~jweyant/
Latinos and Latino Experience 

Randy Willoughby
College of Arts and Sciences
Political Science
(619) 260-4014
rwilloug@sandiego.edu
Politics and Policy & Law and Security
(Security Issues of the San Diego-Tijuana border) 

Sally Yard
College of Arts and Sciences
Fine Arts
(619) 260-4512
syard@sandiego.edu
Arts and Culture 

Angela Yeung
College of Arts and Sciences
Music
(619) 260-4106
ayeung@sandiego.edu
Arts and Culture 

Zhi-Yong (John) Yin
College of Arts and Sciences
Marine and Environmental Studies
(619) 260-8864
zyin@sandiego.edu
http://home.sandiego.edu/~zyin/courses.htm
Science and Environment
Climatic change and its impact on water resources 

Victor Zambrano
College of Arts and Sciences
Languages and Literature
(619) 260-2398
zambrano@sandiego.edu
http://home.sandiego.edu/~zambrano/
Arts and Culture