WorldLink for Youth
Institute for Peace and Justice

Contact: Debbie Martinez
Phone: (619) 260-7568
Fax: (619) 260-7570

Location: KIPJ Room 130
Joan B. Kroc School of Peace Studies
5998 Alcala Park
San Diego, CA 92110

Facebook LinkedIn Flickr Flickr YouTube Twitter Blog

Joan B. Kroc Institute for Peace and Justice

WorldLink Participants

Participating Youth:

WorldLink emphasizes the importance of diverse perspectives, and provides events and activities at no cost to high school youth from all socioeconomic backgrounds. Participating youth represent public, private and charter schools, and vocational and alternative programs, including a juvenile justice rehabilitation program. Their voices are equally heard and valued regardless of their backgrounds. To learn how to participate, please contact program officer Debbie M. Martinez.  

Participating Speakers:

Through year-round youth forums, workshops and the annual Youth Town Meeting conference, WorldLink welcomes world leaders and experts from various sectors, including international non-governmental organizations, nonprofit organizations, and government agencies. Recent past events have included the following speakers.

  • William Aceves, Professor, Litigator in International Human Rights
  • Karen Koning Abuzayd, Regional Representative to the United States and the Caribbean of the UN High Commission for Refugees
  • Ambassador Ljubica Acevska, Macedonia
  • Abel Aganbegyan, President of the Academy of National Economy in Russia
  • Kathi Anderson, Executive Director, Survivors of Torture International
  • Oscar Arias Sanchez, Nobel Peace Prize winner and former President of Costa Rica
  • John Akins, Ph.D., Anthropologist and Investigative Researcher for the Anti-Defamation League
  • Bruce Beardsley, UCLA Diplomat in Residence and former Minister Counselor of Mexico
  • Jorge Beboya, Director of the Children of the Street Project, Mexico
  • Kamal Beyoghlow, U.S. State Department Expert on Terrorism
  • Elena Bilaboa, Children's Rights Representative of the Human Rights District Attorney Office of the State of Baja California, Mexico
  • Mieczyslaw Boduszynski, University of San Diego and University of California San Diego Lecturer and Ethnic Conflict specialist
  • Widney Brown, Advocacy Director, Women's Rights Division, Human Rights Watch
  • Steven A. Browning, Diplomat in Residence, Center for International Studies, University of Southern California
  • Anthony Burman, Teacher and Coordinator of the International Rescue Committee and Students Plus Program
  • Kim Campbell, first woman Prime Minister of Canada
  • Ismael Chacon, Human Rights Attorney with the District Attorney Office of Baja California, Mexico
  • Dr. Meenakshi Chakraverti, Conflict Management and Training Specialist
  • Dr. Tom Davies, Center for Latin American Studies, San Diego State University, Asylum Expert
  • Ambassador Nancy Ely-Raphel, Director, Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons
  • Sylvanna Falcon, Youth Advisory Board, Women's Institute for Leadership Development
  • Michael Farrow, Director, Department of Natural Resources Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation
  • Heriberto Garcia, Representative of the National Human Rights Commission in Tijuana, Mexico
  • Christy Gladfelter, Project Manager for Immigration and Special Projects of the San Diego Regional Office of the International Rescue Committee.
  • Manolo Guillian, Project Manager for the B-Safe Project, a program of the San Diego Youth and Community Services Organization for trafficked minors.
  • Mark Hambley, U.S. Special Representative to the U.N. Commission on Sustainable Development and Special Negotiator for Climate
  • Randall Hamud, Attorney at Law
  • Anne Heindel, Deputy Convener, Coalition for the International Criminal Court
  • Dr. Robert Hitchcock, Chair, Department of Anthropology, and Supervisor of the Human Rights and Human Diversity Initiative at the University of Nebraska
  • Anne Hoiberg, Chair, the United Nations Association's Women's Equity Council, and Past President of the United Nations Association of San Diego
  • Vicki Huddleston, Principal Officer to the U .S. Interest Section, Havana, Cuba
  • Elizabeth W. Jackson, specialist on landmines and foreign correspondent
  • Susan Keogh, Director, Office of Bilateral Affairs for the Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights and Labor
  • Robert A. Kittle, Editorial Page Editor of the San Diego Union- Tribune
  • Mikhail Lyubimov, Former KGB agent and author
  • The Honorable Miria Matembe, Ugandan Minister of Ethics and Integrity
  • Barry McCaffrey, U.S. Drug Czar
  • Elizabeth McClintock, Independent Consultant and Senior Associate with the Conflict Management Group
  • Ambassador Faida M. Mitifu, Ph.D.,Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of The Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • George S. Mitrovich, President and Founder of the City Club of San Diego
  • Joyce Neu, Ph.D., Executive Director of the Joan B. Kroc Institute for Peace and Justice
  • Douglas Neumann, Diplomat in Residence, Hoover Institute, Stanford University
  • Ambassador Pierre-Richard Prosper, J.D.,Ambassador-at-Large for War Crimes Issues
  • Fidel Ramos, Former President of the Philippines
  • Josefina Regula, Agent with the U.S. Federal Bureau of Investigation working in the Human Rights Division, Department of Prevention of Human Trafficking and Child Sexual Tourism
  • Janet Reno, U.S. Attorney General
  • Scott Ritter, former United Nations weapons inspector
  • Ambassador Nancy H. Rubin, U.S. Representative to United Nations Human Rights Commission
  • Devin Rudiger, Coordinator, Burma Foundation
  • Moses Smaparuan Ole Koriata, Founder and Executive Director of the Maasai Indigenous Project
  • Barbara Sands, U.S. Foreign Service Officer and attorney
  • Andrew Schechtman, MD, Family Practice Physician, and Doctors Without Borders (MSF) Volunteer
  • Franklin A. Sonn, South Africa's Ambassador to the United States
  • Donald K. Steinberg, Director of the Joint Policy Council for the U.S. Department of State.
  • Julia Taft, Assistant Secretary of State
  • Shinpei Takeda, President and Co-Founder of The AjA Project
  • Marissa Ugarte, Founder and Director of the Bi-National Safety Corridor Program for the prevention and eradication of commercially exploited minors
  • William Wood, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for International Affairs
  • Lilia Velasquez, Law Professor, International Immigration Attorney, Human Rights Advocate