Hahn School of Nursing and Health Science

Drop Shadow

Adult-Gerontology Clinical Nurse Specialist

Curriculum Plan

The Adult-Gerontology Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS) program requires the completion of 44 academic units. Course sequencing for full-time study is outlined below. Part-time study is also available.

Fall Semester, Year One

APNC 520 Pathophysiology 3 units
ACNS 619 CNS Specialty Role and Practice Foundations 3 units
MSNC 511 Evidence Based Practice: Role of Theory and Research 3 units

Spring Semester, Year One

ACNS 632 Adult Gerontology I: CNS Practice in Individual Patient Sphere 6 units
MSNC 512 Influencing the Health Care Environment: Policy and Systems 3 units
HCIN 540 Introduction to Health Care Information Management 3 units

Summer Session, Year One

ACNS 634 Adult Gerontology II: CNS Practice in Nurse Sphere 5 units

Fall Semester, Year Two

ACNS 636 Adult Gerontology III: CNS Practice in Organizational Sphere 5 units
APNC 521 APRN Physical Assessment and Diagnosis 4 units

Spring Semester, Year Two

ACNS 638 Adult Gerontology IV: Advanced CNS Practicum 6 units
APNC 524 Advanced Pharmacology 3 units

» Apply to the Clinical Nurse Specialist Program