Press Releases

TitleUniversity of San Diego Unveils a New Look
ContactPamela Gray Payton
Contact E-mailpgray, at
Contact Phone(619) 260-4681

The University of San Diego will unveil a new logo at a special ceremony at 1:15 p.m., on Friday, Dec. 8, on the Colachis Plaza, in front of the Hughes Administration building.

The new logo features the dome and tower of The Immaculata, undoubtedly the most distinctive feature on campus and one of the most recognized landmarks in the San Diego region. The logo denotes the university’s Catholicity, integrates key university elements of tradition and beauty, celebrates the Spanish Renaissance architecture for which the university is so well known and represents everything for which USD stands.

While it is the cornerstone of a whole new visual identity, the logo is just one of several graphics designed specifically as part of USD’s visual identity package. All the new graphic elements presented at the event feature colors in the University of San Diego’s color palette — Immaculata Blue, Torero Blue, Founders Blue and Alcalá White. Hand picked by the university’s founders, the colors blue and white were chosen because of their connection to the Virgin Mary, a statue of whom sits atop the dome of The Immaculata, which also is adorned in blue.

“This begins a new era for us in promoting the University of San Diego,” said USD President Mary E. Lyons.

After Jan. 1, 2007, all university materials will feature the new design.

Members of the University of San Diego Board of Trustees, administration, faculty and students, along with community and government officials, will attend the event. To show their school spirit, attendees will be wearing Torero Blue.

The University of San Diego is a Catholic institution of higher learning chartered in 1949; the school enrolls some 7,500 students and is known for its commitment to teaching, the liberal arts, the formation of values and community service. The establishment of the Joan B. Kroc School of Peace Studies will bring the University’s total number of schools and colleges to six. Other academic divisions include the College of Arts and Sciences and the schools of Business Administration, Education, Law and Nursing and Health Sciences.  -end-
leading change at USD